Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was so delicious! The local grocery store didn't have beef tenderloin so I made with pork loin instead. The pan sauce is super easy and tastes like a 5 star restaurant sauce. Made for Mother's Day and mom loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is definitely a special occasion meal. Having to buy a specialty bottle of wine to make the sauce is worth it, but hard on the budget for a weekday meal. I increased the recipe to 6 and had to use two pans, a bummer. This also seemed to increase the "carmelization" time of everything. The recipe took much longer than expected, but it came out perfect. Next time I will invest in higher end cuts of meat (I did not use tenderloin) and the texture will be perfect too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Made this exactly as directed (great video, btw), except... I *forgot* to throw in the fresh oregano at the end - darn it. I wasn't sure I would like the tomato sauce in this but it came out delicious! I'll definitely be making this again, including for company. Thanks for sharing this recipe - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cat_ink
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious! If you follow this to a T it will turn out amazing. I'm not sure how there are so many reviews sayin it's salty, the only amount of salt suggested is a pinch, if you've got a heavy hand the saltiness is your own doing! Additionally If you slim down on the butter for caramelizing and finishing the sauce it still tastes decadent, I've got non stick pans so fats are mainly for taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe....very "gourmet" tasting. To the reviewers who said it was too salty, this means you reduced the sauce too much. I learned the hard way in another recipe. Reducing it enough to reducing it too much can be tricky sometimes. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weare, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Had two beautiful 10oz Omaha Filet Mignon which I cut in half and bashed to about 1/2 inch thickness. Followed the recipes exactly. Could not have been a better New Years Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. I am reviewing the pan sauce only, tonight was beautiful and we grilled the steaks outside. If you like an italian beef with gravy, or are a fan of bracioli, you will like this recipe. Made exactly as written with exception of no pan drippings. This will be a great "dead of winter" recipe! A definite do-over for me. Thanks for sharing, CJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Too salty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great dish. I didn't have Marsala so subbed Cabernet Sauvignon and thought I had tomato sauce but didn't so used a lesser amount of BBQ sauce. End result was yummy. And it was so easy. Would def. make again & would make for family dinner or special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States