Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is an outstanding recipe, and it works with Marsala as well as a good cabernet (ie: Powdered Keg). I have prepared this recipe several times, each scenario with grass-fed beef, and with incredible success. Why go to a steakhouse when you can have something of this caliber so easily made in your own kitchen. My husband does not typically like mushrooms, yet he has repeatedly told me that this dish is "outstanding!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great dish. I didn't have Marsala so subbed Cabernet Sauvignon and thought I had tomato sauce but didn't so used a lesser amount of BBQ sauce. End result was yummy. And it was so easy. Would def. make again & would make for family dinner or special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was so delicious! The local grocery store didn't have beef tenderloin so I made with pork loin instead. The pan sauce is super easy and tastes like a 5 star restaurant sauce. Made for Mother's Day and mom loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is probabaly the closest I have come to making steak as good as a steak house. It was easy and you can keep the wine for another dish, as it is called for frequently in sauces. Beef tenderloin is expensive, and I found with everything else served one tenderloin was enough. I made Chef John's classic rice pilaf with this and becaase that recipie is very easy, this fabulous meal was much less work than you would think.Watching the videos helps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Made this exactly as directed (great video, btw), except... I *forgot* to throw in the fresh oregano at the end - darn it. I wasn't sure I would like the tomato sauce in this but it came out delicious! I'll definitely be making this again, including for company. Thanks for sharing this recipe - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. I am reviewing the pan sauce only, tonight was beautiful and we grilled the steaks outside. If you like an italian beef with gravy, or are a fan of bracioli, you will like this recipe. Made exactly as written with exception of no pan drippings. This will be a great "dead of winter" recipe! A definite do-over for me. Thanks for sharing, CJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've tried it. But what side dish would be the best?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I loved this, and it was much easier than I thought. Found the video after the fact, and wished I had seen it before. I found it when I searched "beef tenderloin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delish sauce!! I doubled the portions so it took me longer to prepare the sauce than the recipe states, but worth the time. Saved to my repertoire! Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States