Beef Marinade I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was by far the best marinade I have ever had on a steak. Very tender, very flavorful. But I can see why some people just didn't like it. I think it's a love it or hate it dish. The only thing I changed was I used red wine vinegar, and 1 Tbsp. of cloves. A must try!! We grilled it on our george foreman grill. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Very good, it gave the meat a ton of flavor. Maybe cut down on the soy sauce a little for a little less salty taste. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This marinade was fabulous! Great flavor and helped tenderize a really tough roast I had bought and cut-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I sliced my steak, marinated 30 min and 'kabob'ed them. Big mistake - too salty. Will try this again with basting or perhaps marinading w/o slicing the steak first. Too many ppl love this recipe for me to give up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Horrible! Nasty! What was I thinking??!! Cloves? If I could give it less than a single star I would..no offense Debi. The clove taste was WAY too overpowering. You gotta like cloves A LOT to use this recipe. What a waste of good meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This marinade is "delish". I have tried it on several different cuts of meat and we love it. I don't like the flavor of the soy sauce too much so I tend to add only a tablespoon of that and then about a tablespoon or two of seasoned salt to the mixture. Also for those that use this on a grill, I have also added smoke flavoring to the mixture, and YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This is absolutely wonderful. The cloves add the perfect touch. I didn't or wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Made this for a gathering and it was very disappointing. The kabobs were salty, but worse of all; there was this totally gross clove taste. I caught one of my guests running their meat under water just so they could eat it! With some adjusting, I think it can be a good marinade, so I am going to give it 2 stars. As is though, I would definitely not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Followed recipe except used a little less clove. Marinated London broil almost 4 days, meat wasn't close to tender and the clove taste was gross. Everyone else said kabobs had a good flavor, but I think they didn't want to hurt my feelings. This was pretty disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This is the GREATEST beef marinade. I used it for a london broil cut and I marinated for 8 hours, not three days and it was still delcious. This receipe make a lot of marinade so I would cut the recipe in half for shish kabob pieces. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States