Beef Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicole S.
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I liked this. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I did double the sauce. I seasoned my skirt steak with fajita seasonings and cooked it out on the grill for about six minutes a side. I used snow peas, carrots, red onion, and bits of broccoli tossing in some green onions and cilantro at the end. Served with egg rolls and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Excellent flavor and a quick dinner. I hit the grocery store right after they had marked down the pre packaged cut up vegetables and that lowered meal prep down to about 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I tried this using the oils and spices in the recipe but used hot sesame oil which gives more schecuan kick. Essential veggies to use are bok choy, black mushrooms, and water chestnuts...and diced scallions added just a minute or two before finishing the dish. I also always use fresh lo mein noodles from an Asian grocery - spaghetti has the wrong texture for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great taste, my husband and kids ate it up! I only used a half pound of pasta and it was still wonderful. For my mixed veggies I chopped up bok choy & carrots, used mushrooms & bean sprouts. Great dish that was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I did it kinda redneck style but still amazing great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Church

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I will NEVER purchase beef lo mien from any restaurant ever again. This recipe is delicious. I was worried about using flank steak but it is perfect for this recipe. I doubled the sauce, and cooked the veges in half of it as another reviewer suggested. I BBQ 'd the steak before slicing it up and tossed it in at the end. I used gluten free spaghetti for a more authentic rice noodle taste without breaking the bank. As far as vegetables go, snopeas, shredded carrots, sliced onion and button mushroom were used. This recipe is a home run in my book. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved this. I left out the celery and carrots and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
We liked it. I made double the sauce and put half with the pasta and half with the meat and veggies. Would use more vegetables at least another cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was really good. I didn't do the noodles. I made it for the kids & my son prefers rice, so I made it as a stir fry and served it over rice. I used a bag of stir fry veggies from the store. It was probably closer to 2 cups than 4. I also used chicken tenders rather than steak. So this is a very forgiving recipe. It was really good! The sauce is awesome. I don't know what "asian chile paste with garlic" is so I used sirracha (about 1/2 Tbsp) and cut back on the oyster sauce (1/2 - 3/4 Tbsp) - since it was for the kids. The sauce is really good. Very flavorful. It was a hit! I'll definitely be making this again (and probably I'll end up making it on a regular basis). Look forward to trying it with noodles - but I'd certainly double the sauce if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States