Beef Jerky in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
155° in my electric smoker for 4 hours was perfect if cut into 1/4" strips. For a low sodium option, use Bragg's Liquid Amino as a soy sauce substitute. I didn't use pepper and went with 1tbs of Mrs Dash garlic & Herb. Everyone that's tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Decent recipe - but I would recommend top round steaks cut at 1/4" thick as top round will provide a more lean cut of meat with less fat/marbling, and the thinner cut will reduce smoke time and provide a bite feel that is more like jerky. Use paper clips to hang the strips of meat from the top grate of WSM smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
smelled really good during the 1st stages but was cooked in my smoker on low and burnt after only 4 hours. Will try again and if it comes out as good as it smells the review will defiantly go up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Came out great! Keep it on low though mine was over done after only five hours. We are eating it anyway it's still real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I love pepered stuff but Im the only one here at our house, so I used Garlic salt insted. OMG that was great. thanks for putting this on line. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
to the guy below. use common sense idiot too much pepper to you is perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I don't use a smoker (so the flavor may be different), but this jerky recipe is the one my husband requests. I personally think the pepper is a bit strong, but the flavor is excellent, and it grows on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Entirely too much pepper. We ended up throwing 3/4 of the jerky in the trash--what a waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Way too much pepper!!! This would probably be fine if you cut the amount of pepper by 75%!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2001
6-8 hours at 200 degrees consistently makes great jerky. Adding a little home grown cerrano pepper works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States