Beef Heart en Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Excellent--a great way to get more organ meats into our diet! Mine wasn't exactly the same--I thought I had a parsnip, but I didn't, so I substituted sweet potatoes for all the root vegetables, and I made my own mole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I used black beans instead of lima beans for the full Latin concept and INSTANT CLASSIC! Superb use of mole...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe! My only suggestion would be to not crowd the heart in the pan when browning. If you do the meat will steam rather than sear. I made this with grass fed beef from my dad's ranch. It was excellent. I snuck in pureed spinach and kale for extra nutrition and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I'm making this recipe without the mole sauce, i.e, I don't know what mole sauce is and never heard of it, Can you buy it in the grocery store and is it known by another name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I had a beef heart in my freezer from our purchase of a 1/4 cow from a local organic farm. I had no idea what to do with it. It was kind of daunting, I was afraid to cook it, until I found this recipe. All I can say is WOW! This is so good that I might buy another heart just to make it again. I did not tell my family, what cut of beef was in this dish when I served it in order to avoid the drama of thier reaction, and everyone ate seconds on it. It will be my little secret. Now I just need to figure out what to do with the tongue and oxtails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
this is my first review though I have been a member for years. This is the most flavorful dish-I followed it to the letter. My husband complimented me all through the meal of which he had thirds! The sweating of the vegetables gives this dish it's savory, rich flavors and complements the beef. Do not fear the heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Glad you tried/were inspired by the recipe. I just wanted to mention that this recipe's nutrition information is off because it serves way more than 4 people. It will easily feed 8 to 10 people. So cut the nutrition info by half at least. To reduce sodium use frozen rather than canned limas. Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I didn't put all of the vegies and beans in the recipe. The heart was cooked all night in the crock pot, drained, then stewed in my own mole. We had it with rice and beans. Got rave reviews from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States