Beef Heart Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Very easy. The smell as it simmers will drive you to drool. I added dried shitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
added small carrots and served over rice. needed a little more taste. put soy sauce on top. it was great. was really easy in pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is some of the tastiest beef stew I've ever made/eaten. I used three medium-sized hearts and increased the proportions accordingly ... and added a bag of still-frozen green peas to the hot stew at the end. The squeamish (who will probably not be viewing this recipe anyway...) would do well to put aside their reluctance and appreciate the fact that beef heart is nothing more than a big chunk of boneless, relatively lean, meat that cooks up into a very flavorful stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I might not be a beef heart fan, but this dish had a pretty good flavor. I only cooked it for the 2 hours so maybe more time would have made it a little more tender and more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazing!!! I always liked the taste of beef heart but I rarely made it as it was too tough and too hard to find. But now that I found a place and have this stew recipe...forget about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugene Bethel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was fantastic. I made paprika dumplings to pour the stew over. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very blunt flavor, but not too strong. This is a good stock recipe for using a beef heart, with few bells or whistles. Not bad as it is, and has plenty of room for creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I messed it up....too much flour....and out of sync......gonna throw it all in the crock pot for the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We enjoyed this a great deal. It's not fancy and really lets the flavor of the heart shine through. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States