Beef Heart Braised in Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It was as tender as filet mignon probably because I trimmed the dense covering off really well. Love the fact that it is so cheap to buy!! I flash fried it in butter as Julia Child recommends for meat ( super high heat, one minute on first side and 30 seconds on the second side. set it aside. The liquid is thick and if you want it stewier, use more broth and wine. Couldn't be easier. I used crock pot and it was fine but think I will use the oven method today (and therefore will watch for need to add more liquid). It was so easy and the teenagers loved it which is a miracle. It tastes the way a really beefy stew SHOULD taste, not like organ meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt11b
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious added garlic and a little extra wine would definitely make it again with some minor differences
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Good, but I think the heart needs to stew a bit longer. It's quite tough. Also added some garlic for a little extra umpf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used this recipe as a starting point and tinckered with it a bit to customize it. As another reviewer suggested, I soaked the heart in cold salty water for an hour. I added some fresh and dried mushrooms, 4 cloves of garlic, a dash of cayene pepper, pimiento powder, bay leaf, and annise. Instead of simmering on the stove top, I used a cast iron pot and baked it on 350 for about 1.5 hours. We absolutely LOVED it and didn't think it had a strong flavor at all, but we had a grass-fed beef heart so that probably made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy to follow, great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
yikes, way too much thyme! The heart meat is good and the sauce it was in would have been good maybe if it were toned down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
A very delicious way to use an often-ignored "cut" of beef. I added minced garlic and used a slow cooker on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJaye2010
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great low cost treat for the dogs. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaye2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was really delicious. I used rice flour to flour the heart instead of regular flour. We will definitely make this again! I used about 3 cups beef broth and 1 cup wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
So maybe I didnt do a good job cooking this or I just don't like heart very much (first time), but this did not turn out too great. The heart was very chewy and I did not care for the aftertaste. I will be trying heart again, just not this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States