Beef Gyro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Nice set of instruction for tzatziki sauce. Just grating a seeded cucumber works better and manually stirring the sauce(unless what you want is blended to death cucumber and runny sauce). Now the part that gets the low rating. The title says Beef gyro, yet there is no recipe to seasoning beef or cooking beef for a gyro in the recipe. by this the beef is eaten raw with not seasoning. There are many better recipes and instruction for tzatziki sauce in All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
People who are having trouble with it being watery. Try running the cucumbers through a food processor, blender, or grate really fine on a cheese grader first then put on a terry cloth or a lot of paper towles and ring out the extra mosture form the cucumbers. This will help remove the extra liquid and make the tzatziki thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
It was very good, but gonna make it my own way now that I know the basics. Gonna have to double the portions next time too, what I made was gone within 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdodd
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made it the fist time as written, yep it was way to thin. It took a little thought, but to thicken it: 1) shred the cucumber 2) wrap in paper towels and squeeze the moisture out 3) MIX BY HAND DON'T USE THE BLENDER. Now you have a great tzatziki ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Sauce was very watery... Next time I'll try with only one cucumber and maybe an extra yogurt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The sauce was too thin, and the beef is bland. Great recipe for people who don't like spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
this was quick and easy and I would definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The flavors in this recipe were great, but my tzatziki sauce was very watery! I ended up doubling the amount of yogurt and that helped, but it was still quite thin. I will definitely make this again, but I will have to do some tweaking of measurements to fix the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was delicious! I used some bison skirt steak that I had on hand in place of the beef. Also, I had to omit the lettuce b/c I was out of it. LOVED the addition of the feta! What a great take on a gyro...a keeper, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States