Beef, Green Chili and Tomato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS! I've made it three times now and I know I'll be making it a lot more during the colder months. Soooo good. I didn't change a thing. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jacqueline Aragon
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
We loved this stew. We used New Mexico green chillies. It was hot, so crushed the tomatoes to sween the sauce, and two beers. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Aragon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The only reason I didn't rate this five stars is because I didn't exaclty stick to the script. I didnt use beer although next time I will try it out; I used tomatillos instead of canned tomatoes; and I used fresh chiles. I put all my veggies under the broiler untill charred a little, blended and then cooked as the directions say... actually, now that I think of it I'll just add my own recipe because I did modify this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good! Meat was tender. Couldn't find Canned Roma tomatoes...only plum, but turned out great. Pretty easy recipe with minimal ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Awesome! I doctored just a bit by adding a diced red pepper and poblano that I had to use or toss. market had stew beef at a better price than chuck roast so I used that. It was so good--served it over rice and had veggies on the side. Tomorrow night I'll be using the leftovers in a pulled beef enchilada! THANK YOU for sharing this one -- it is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This is AMAZING, crazy good!!! I make it quite often. I use cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with chilies, and I do add sliced mushrooms, and sauté with the onions. I don't season or flour the meat cubes before browning at all. There is no need to. The spices, beer (I use Sam Adams Boston Lager) meat, tomatoes, etc, all work together very nicely to make a delicious dish. I eat this as is, or in burritos, tacos, the best super nachos ever, on a bun as a delicious twist on a sloppy joe, put leftovers in your spaghetti sauce, endless meals with this one. Add more seasonings or peppers if you like real spicy, or cut them out if need too. You'll still get a great dish. By far, my favorite recipe on AR, and I love a lot of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this chili this past weekend. I thought it was very good. The only thing I will do differently next time is to use less vegetable oil because I didn't really need 1/4 cup. I will also roast my own green chilis (Anaheim or Hatch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This stew was great. On the second day I added rice and cheese, put it all in a flour tortilla and made the best green chili burrito. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love this recipe. I used a can of 'hot' green chilles and that gave it a real kick; also added juice from one lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good, thank you. Bon appétit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States