Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I needed a good meal to make for my dad and siblings while my mom was out of town, and this turned out to be a big hit! Like some other people, I substituted ricotta cheese for cottage cheese and used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. It wasn't all that difficult to make and everyone loved it. I would definitely recommend this recipe...I'm sure we'll be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Just wanted to say that everyone in our family loved this recipe. The only thing that I did different was omitted the salt and oregano and added Italian Seasoning. I also lined a 9 x 13 baking dishing with half of a small jar of pizza sauce and then added the rest of the pizza sauce along with the tomato sauce to the ground beef mixture. Also, I didn't not have any ground beef at the moment and substituted ground veal. Next, time I think I'll try Italian sausage. Will be keeping this recipe as part of my list. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
An easy, tasty recipe - and you get all of your food groups in one dish! This is very similar to lasagna, except egg noodles are used instead of lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This is delicious! The one change I made was out of necessity-I didn't have two 8-oz. cans of tomato sauce, just one, so I used 8 oz. of an Italian Baking Sauce instead and it was fine. I added slightly more water to offset the chunkiness and thickness of the baking sauce. It was very nice and moist, didn't dry out like some pasta casseroles can. My husband had 3rds...and he does NOT like cottage cheese. I don't think he even knew it was one of the ingredients. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This was good...a quick lasagne meal. I accidentally bought Italian stewed tomatoes when I thought I was buying Italian tomato sauce, but we both enjoyed this. I noticed that it didn't say what to do with the garlic, so I chopped it up and put it in with the hamburger. I also shredded a big carrot, and a small zuchini and some celery and saute'd that with the meat. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
this was great loved the textures and different flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I am the originator and am thinking of using 1 pound of ground beef along with 1/2 pound of hot sausage next time. That is how I make my Lasagna and it is a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Easy, easy, easy. Next time I make this, I think I will saute the onions first. Reminds me of lasagne. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This recipe was just an okay dish with a fancy name. I followed the recipe except didn't add any water to the tomato sauce meat mixture. It was very plain, probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
WOW. This was more than I had hoped for. My husband went back for thirds, and the kids both went for seconds. One of the few recipes I have found that the whole family enjoys. The only change I made was using steak cut into small chunks instead of ground beef. Thanks for a real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States