Beef Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I am the originator and am thinking of using 1 pound of ground beef along with 1/2 pound of hot sausage next time. That is how I make my Lasagna and it is a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Delicious! For those who had a problem with wateriness, I make two suggestions. First, the originator of the recipe posted a review in which she said she forgot to say that the meat mixture should be simmered for 15 minutes. Second, make sure to thoroughly drain your cooked spinach. I put mine in several layers of paper towels and squeezed until no more liquid came out. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added more seasoning to the meat, and I sauteed the onion and garlic with the meat as well. The result was a very flavorful dish that I'm sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a good recipe and very very easy to make. The only problem I had was after I put it in the oven, I realized that the acutal directions don't say what to do with the 2 cloves of garlic. When it came out it did seem to be missing something, so I'm assuming the garlic probably could have gone in the spinach mixture. I would also like to try substituting spaghetti for the tomato sauce and ricotta for the cottage cheese. I will definetly make this again, though, and tweak it a bit. It still came out yummy, and it's definetly a way to spruce up plain old ground beef. It's leftover friendly too~ Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was just ok for us...a lazy man's lasagna. The spinach was too overpowering and the dish itself was rather bland...thats after added some Italian spices and more garlic. I don't think this is something that we will make again. It was easy, quick, and inexpensive...just not for us. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Yum is all I have to say. I have made this a few times for potlucks and there is never any left. I add oregano and garlic powder to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This turned out DELICIOUS. After reading the reviews, I modified this recipe for our personal tastes. I tripled the garlic, and halved the salt. I doubled all the rest of the spices, the onion, and the Parmesan cheese. To combat the dryness that people complained about, I used a #2 can of no-salt added diced tomatoes for an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, and did not add any water. Subbed ground turkey for the beef, and Provolone cheese for the Mozzarella. Did not pre-cook anything--just squeezed ALL the moisture out of the spinach, and diced the onion very fine. While we couldn’t specifically taste the cottage cheese, all the flavors blended together so well that my hubby said that this was a GREAT “light” version of lasagna, and that we should have it often. And we will, since it is so very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Have made this multiple times and it's always a hit. Some changes I've made... saute the beef with garlic and onion, use homemade tomato sauce instead of the canned tomato sauce and other ingredients in that step.(oregano, salt, pepper, water). And I add a package of feta cheese. Also we mix everything together instead of layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I thought this was a wonderful and quick meal idea. I usually cook light so I used wheat pasta, ground sirloin, and all light chesses. The spinach put a wonderful twist on this recipe. My husband also loved it. I will be making this again real soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My dad liked it so that gives any recipe 5 stars. as suggested by someone else I just mixed the noodles,sauce, meat, spinach, and cottage cheese together in a pan. I baked for 15 minutes then covered with the mozzarella and baked ten more. We like spinach but if you don't I'm not sure this is your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
We all loved it in our house, the bowls were all but licked clean, though am sure my 4yr old considered it. I did make some changes as I find that taste is very subjective and that where seasonings are concerned it is better to go with your own personal taste than a prescribed quantity...so I went nuts and added a bit more garlic, a good sprinkling of Italian seasoning, beef stock powder, a grated carrot (it is all about sneaking in the vegies where the kids are concerned) and a tin of tomatoes. Everything else was unchanged....and it was just fantastic. I just polished off the leftovers for my lunch and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States