Beef Fajita Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very easy, and very good - great for a quick meal! I rubbed the steak with a little olive oil and and then the dry fajita seasoning then grilled it vs. pan frying. I did however pan fry the peppers and onions. The salad was very good and all I added to that was a little sliced avocado and tortilla strips. For the dressing I chose "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site - one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I don't know if I'll honor his request or not, but this was so good Hubs asked that we have this again this weekend. He did think the dressing was a little heavy on the cilantro for his tastes but I thought it was just fine; in fact, I thought the cumin was more prominent. I made this as directed, with an attempt to arrange the various ingredients attractively on the lettuce. I also included additional, optional toppings of cooked and crumbled bacon and crispy baked tortilla strips. For the meat I used No Name sirloin steaks (1 (6 oz.) steak was enough for the two of us), and for the seasoning I used Penzey's Fajita Seasoning. As for the lettuce, (shhhh) I did not use Dole Just Lettuce, preferring instead to use romaine lettuce. This was as delicious as it was attractive. It's been awhile since I've enjoyed a salad so much. (Note: So as not to overcook the steak I removed it from the pan before adding the peppers and onions. Once that was cooked I returned the steak to the pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I doubled this recipe to make enough for three people and one portion for lunch the next day. I made my own fajita seasoning. We didn't use the whole amount of onion called for. In the Southwest Fiesta Dressing, I used taco sauce instead of ketchup. This was a nice quick dinner that we all enjoyed. This would make a good "wrap" for lunchboxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Made with chicken but will try beef next time. No olives because olives are gross. Dressing was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Loved it! This was a really great recipe, the dressing is a perfect fit for this salad. All around yum. I put out all of the components of this meal separately on the table (meat mixture in one bowl, cheese in another, tomatoes in another, etc.) along with salad and tortillas so the family could choose how to eat it. I had it just as a salad but I bet it would be great also in a tortilla with the dressing. Would definitely make again. (PS- I did not have fajita seasoning but used a package of taco seasoning and that seemed just fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent! I used salsa instead of ketchup in the dressing, but I could see trying the ketchup next time as a nice way to counter the tartness of the yogurt and lime juice. I added some sliced avocado to this and tossed the lettuce with some of the dressing before placing all the other ingredients on top. So good! Never seen my husband wolf down a salad so fast. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My husband is just getting over being sick and we are sick of soup! So something light, but filling was what we needed! The only thing was that I had no black olives, but I did have green so I used those , and I threw in some yellow chopped tomatoes with the red. That dressing is fantastic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was pretty darned good. I followed the recipe pretty closely. Except for a couple things: had some very rare steak left over from last night's dinner so I sliced that up and added it to the pan when the peppers and onions were close to being done. I had no Fajita seasoning so I did as others suggested and used taco seasoning instead. I had no plain yoghurt so I figured, for the amount required along with the strength of the seasonings, I could get away with using some stirred raspberry yoghurt. Other than that I followed the Southwest Fiesta Dressing recipe exactly. It was very good, a perfect accompaniment. I served the whole thing on tortillas for an easy-to-go meal. My husband and I enjoyed it very much - I'll be making it again. One caveat - if serving in tortillas, cut the meat up into bite-size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Used leftover strip loin; didn't use the fajita spice. Really liked the southwestern sauce, just added 1/2 cup of salsa and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent and easy. I changed it a bit by making quick Spanish rice and putting it over that. Did not use the salad dressing. Just sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States