Beef Enchiladas with Spicy Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Our family loved this recipe. Easy to make. But this is not spicy or sweet. It's just right. The best enchilada sauce I've ever made. I have tried many recipes from this site. Better than canned. It does take some time but make double the recipe. The sauce freezes well. That way I have extra meals at my fingertips. When I need them. My husband like spicy food so he spices with hot sauce when he serves his up. I used beef broth instead of chicken. More onions more garlic. I have used both flour and corn tortillas. This is the enchilada recipe for our family. Thank you Vicki. CARLA T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very good sauce that makes the recipe top notch, I used Ancho chili powder, nice flavoring. My salsa and chicken broth were homemade, and I used my Immersion blender in the pan to make a nice smooth texture since my salsa was pretty chunky. I skipped the warming tortillas in foil stage, just used them straight out of the package. I made my own Mexican blend of cheese with Colby Jack, and Kraft jalapeno cheddar. I also added one can of black beans to the meat mixture to make fuller enchiladas, and the remainder of my ck broth worked fine in place of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Loved it and so does my family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzettes SweetCakes N Bakes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Wonderful! My picky boyfriend loved it!! I had to add poblano peppers because i love peppers. The filling and sauce were so good by itself! Will be a regular at my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I am so impressed with this recipe! I don't think there is anything that I'd change! I used large sized tortillas and the fit nice and snuggle in a large dish. My favorite thing was the red sauce. Perfect balance of flavors, I ended up putting it over the beans and rice sides! Delicious but took some time. I also want to add I used half a jar of on the border chunky salsa. I also didn't have any fresh cilantro,but still don't think I was missing any thing without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I used store bought enchilada sauce, but the recipe still turned out perfect! This is better than any enchiladas in any restaurant I've been to. I'm making them for the family again tonight after several requests. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy C
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this last night for me and my hubby and we loved it. I don't know why people are saying it's sweet, we thought the spices were perfect. The only things I did different is I make my own corn tortillas and I used pico de gallo instead of the salsa. It must make a difference on what kind of salsa you are using, the bought stuff can be very sweet sometimes, maybe just read the ingredient list to see how much sugar is in it or just make your own its way better anyways. Loved it, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent depth of flavor! It does take a long time to make, but I skipped the extra simmer on the beef because I was afraid of overcooking the meat. I used a pepper jack cheese blend, and substituted more canned enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce as I did not have any. I used Reser's restaurant style salsa. I think some reviewers who have found this sweet must have used sweet salsa. I didn't find it sweet at all. Served with Mexican Rice III from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amelia
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really liked this recipe, much more than the one I was using before. And the fact that's from scratch make me like it even more. I don't live in the US, so "use a can of ... or a package of ..." very often don't work for me, just because I can't buy it here. Not sure I would anyway, thinking how things taste better when they are made from scratch, and also I can control what I add to it. Though I had to make few small changes to fit my taste. First of all, I am not a huge fan of a very spicy food, so I cut the chili powder on half and it was still very spicy for me (though my husband loved it :) Next time will add even less. Second, I used a large can (28oz) of tomatoes with juice mashed with blender until smooth) and cut tomato paste in half, omitted basil and cut chicken broth to 1.5 cups (because I already had more liquid in tomatoes). Third, I didn't understand why you need to keep cooking the meat sauce for 30 more minutes after adding cheese.. I cooked it for 20 min or so, added cheese, covered with lid and turned off the heat. Followed the recipe in other steps, will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States