Beef Enchiladas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Good and pretty quick, but I changed several things when I made it. I added a packet of taco seasoning while sauting the beef. As I cooked the beef, I make up a box of Meican rice. I like the flavor of meat, rice and cheese all mixed together. I like using a can of enchilada sauce instead of the powder stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
789 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Flour tortillas? Enchiladas are supposed to be made with corn tortillas in order to get more of an authentic Mexican dish. The majority of my family is from Mexico and the thought of using flour tortillas is just not right. I'll stick to the recipes my mother and grandmother taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkTexasChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
A very delicious meal! The best thing about this recipe is that it is wonderfully simple and easy. It being such a basic recipe means that you can make it as directed or add on to the ingredients to get even more satisfying results. My changes were mostly in the meat, which I doctored up like so: besides the onion, I added a generous amount of garlic (I'm a garlic freak), a can of mild green chile peppers, and half a pack of basic taco seasoning. Yum Yum. After that bit it is as easy as pie. You just roll everything up and bake and you've got dinner! This is also a wonderful meal to eat while on a budget. The last two times I've made this for my family, I served it with cornbread, Spanish rice, and extra enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Not all of us are Mexican. Corn tortillas tend to overpower the whole dish and not all of us care for the flavor. I prefer flour tortillas also and don't think people should judge on authenticity only. Use what you prefer but don't criticize because it's something you don't prefer due to your heritage. There is such a thing as modifying a recipe to suit your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Hmmm....I was surprised to see so many recipes called "Enchilidas" made with FLOUR tortillas. True enchiladas are made with CORN tortillas not flour; however I do make this all the time using flour tortillas; but I dont call them "Enchiladas" I call them "Enchi-ritos" cus they contain a combination of enchilada/burrito ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
a quick easy Mexican fiesta. I used the canned El Paso enchilada sauce, placed 1/2 in pan and 1/2 over the enchilada's and quite a bit more shredded mexican cheeses. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Made exactly as written and everyone (including picky little ones) enjoyed and had seconds. Thanks for this quick and easy recipe! And to those criticizing flour tortillas vs corn tortillas...not all of us are experts on Mexican foods and really don't care. We just like a great tasting dish and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe was tasty and very easy. This is a great meal to fix on a busy night. Add a side of refried beans and mexican rice and your good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
For such a quick and easy recipe, these were quite good! I added a can of refried beans to the beef mixture but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Great for a quick weeknight meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
this recipe sounds great....and easy..cant wait to try...i make something similar and i know this will be good.......for the persone who like corn totillas everyone has different tastes and likes things different ways...whether its authentic mexican or not...this is what this what this lady like and she is shareing her recipe ..if its not for you, just leave ..and keep your comments to yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States