Beef Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This was a delicious recipe! I did make some changes to the original, however. I used canned enchilada sauce and Mexican cheese (instead of the cheddar.) Also, I layered the corn tortillas, rather than roll each one. I decided to do this because the tortillas kept cracking. This was a wonderful dish that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Wow! Delish! These enchiladas scored a touchdown on my Super Bowl Sunday Buffet table! I left out one can of chilis and used Sara's Red Enchilada Sauce from this site in place of tomato sauce. Heat the tortillas in a non-stick pan for a half minute or so, this will make them pliable without the oil or sauce on them. I also served the sour cream on the side for garnish rather than in with the sauce. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
Delicious! I used flour tortillas, and these enchiladas turned out great . I must admit they take awhile to prepare, and alot of steps are involved but tehy are well worth the work. My boyfriend loved them. It's the first dish he's requested that I make over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A good basic enchilda recipe. I modified mine slightly due to what ingredients I had on hand. I used canned enchilada sause instead of the tomato/chili powder combo. I also used ground beef. I imagine it would be fine either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I have made this recipe three times. Every time it get's rave reviews from the other pepole who get to have some. My only suggestion's is that you use alot more cheese, and make alot of them...they are great left-over meal's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Very good enchiladas! I used "Red Enchilada Sauce" submitted by Sara instead of the tomato sauce, more cheese, flour tortillas (we like them better than the corn ones), and only one can of green chiles. I served over a bed of shredded lettuce and used the sour cream as a garnish instead of putting it in the dish. Next time, I might add some bell peppers. I could see ground beef working equally as good. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Simply AWESOME! I cooked my beef in a crockpot so that it would be nice and tender and easy to shred. I added all the ingredients to the crock pot: sauted onions, garlic, peppers, tomato sauce, chili powder. I also added enchilada seasoning, enchilada sauce, and 1/4 cup of chicken stock. Cooked in crockpot for 5 hours on high. I didn't have black olives, but did add refried beans to my tortilla rolls. This came out wonderful and was full of flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Easy recipe to follow. Tasted great. I did not use tomato sauce rather I used Brenda's recipe for red enchilada sauce instead. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This dish turned out really well. I forgot to separate the tomato sauce, so I didn't have any left to pour over the top, but it still turned out OK. I think it would have had more moisture if I had done it right, though! I think I will use ground beef instead of sirloin steak next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I've made this recipe 3 times now and each time i did it differently trying to make it better. This is what you do: Use steak-ums instead of beef. Don't put tomato sauce on top. I used flour tortillas. Who likes cooked sour cream? eww. Basically, follow the recipe for the meat and then roll up in flour tortillas. Then only put cheese on top (i used monterey jack/colby) and bake. Then on each person's serving, add sour cream, chopped green onions, chi chi's salsa... This tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States