Beef Empanadas Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Added chopped onion, cumin and adobo sauce to the meat filling. While I thought that the biscuit was a bit much, the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Boyfriend and I both loved them. I was already preparing a full pound of ground beef, so I just double the recipe, and got a whole bunch of these (not that that's a bad thing). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly, and was unimpressed with the results. The biscuit taste was overpowering and the filling was rather bland. I've made other empanada recipes before and loved them, but decided to give these a try since they seemed simple. I'm not sure what happened since everyone else seems to love these, but mine were not good. Next time, I'll spend the extra time to make dough instead of using premade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
the filling is great. the biscuts not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Served this at a party and everyone loved it. Only complaint is that it leaked a bit - so be sure to seal tightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Don't waist your money on the ingredients unless you plan on making something else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great beef mixture for tacos too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I thought this was a really good quick recipe. My toddlers loved it and they tend to be very picky when it comes to anything with meat in it. Thanks "LoveMy3Boys": I used your seasoning tips and it was a really good beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I really wasn't sure how to rate this. Our family loved it however I made several changes by combining several recipes I found. Sorry if this is long winded but here is what I did. First I made a seasoning mix with 1 tbs cumin, 2 tbs Paprika, 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder, dash of salt and a dash of pepper. I sauteed 1/2 a med white onion in olive oil, then added 1 lbs ground beef. I used about 3/4 of the seasoning mix while browning the beef. I then drained the beef well and back in the pan mixed in about 4 1/2 oz plain tomato sauce, 1 4oz drained can of green chilies and 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese. With it off the heat let the filling cool a bit. While it was cooling I started flattening out my biscuits (the large, home style grands) when they were good and flat (about 2.5-3in across) I spooned about 1.5-2 tbs of filling in the center, folded over and pinched the ends, brushed them with beaten egg and baked on a greased cookie sheet for 15 min at 375. I have a little bit of filling leftover but the hubby requested I save it for burritos tomorrow. :) We were all very impressed with the flavor, even my 2year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I thought these were great and very easy to make. The only change I made was I used left over steak instead of ground beef and doubled the amount of chiles. I will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Tenino, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States