Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Used ground chicken instead of ground beef and tried someone's suggestion to bake in oven. Won't do that again, egg rolls came out very hard, my son hated them. The filling was great and next time I will try frying them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Made these for a Christmas party and everyone really enjoyed them. I've never made egg rolls before and they went together very easy. Thanks for the recipe Trisha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made this recipe for New Years Eve; they were great!! They are very close to my favorite Chinese Restaraunt. I made a few changes, nothing major. I used 2 bags of shredded cole slaw mix instead of a head of cabbage and cut the beef in half. I added 1 celery stalk sliced thin, and about 10 sliced water chestnuts (minced), and 2 tbls. dried chives. When the mixture was cool enough to handle I mixed in about 1 tbl. of sesame oil then squeezed all extra liquid from the mix before I rolled them. I served them with chinese hot mustard sauce and soy sauce. My husband loved them. Next time I think that I will double the recipe and freeze some for later as I make stir fry often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Wow! I followed the recipe exactly, except (1) I used two 16-oz bags of cole slaw to save a little work, (2) I added a can of bean sprouts, (3) I used spring roll wrappers because they were much cheaper and sounded fun, and (4) instead of deep-frying, I sprayed with canola on all sides, laid the rolls out on a cookie sheet, and baked at 400F for 25 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. (They still turned golden brown and needed blotting with paper towels, but I skipped the 2 qts of boiling oil part.) They turned out really well, which was not a surprise ... but a little TOO meaty for my taste. Next time I'll reduce the meat or even leave it out altogether. The spring roll wrappers came with about 60 in a package for $1.22, dry on the shelf. Dipping them in hot water and rolling was MUCH easier than I expected from the description (btw, many thanks to the previous reviewer's "goofy" face analogy!) The biggest surprise? I made 12 full-size rolls, and have only used maybe 1/5 of my filling. I'll definitely be able to fill all 60 wrappers if I have that many. My ingredients, not counting seasonings, cost about $8, so these rolls cost less than a dime each. That’s buying cole slaw mix and using 90% lean ground beef (which I still drained after browning)! If I'd cut up the cabbage, the cost would have plummeted to perhaps a nickel apiece. Just like the restaurant version, I like these best with hot mustard, dipped in soy sauce. The recipe's definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I just made these for the second time and everybody absolutely loved them!! I only made minor changes: I used fresh (grated) ginger, and I added some Chinese five spice, a grated carrot, and a cup of bean sprouts. Since I did not use sherry the first time I made it, I now have to advise not to omit it because it really changes the flavor (yummie!!). Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Like with meatballs, putting these in the freezer for a few minutes before deep-frying makes handling a little easier. Also, I only used 2 tablespoons filling for each eggroll. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have mde these twice now and they have turned out great each time. I added bean sprouts this last time and it made so much, I was able to freeze some for next time. Quick and easy. Make sure you let the mixture cool completely before you roll and fry. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I used shrimp instead of ground beef. This was very easy and quickly became 1 of my husbands favorite things for me to cook. The only problem I had was I had to purchase a bigger frying pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Yummy!! These were good, very good! I omitted the sherry. And I only used about 3/4 of a small head of cabbage. In the future, I would use about ½ of a small head, at most.. But I like my egg rolls more meaty. I added some julienne carrots, chopped small, but I won't do that again because one egg roll got punctured by a carrot. :) Still worked, though! I also added about ½ can of bean sprouts. I would have bought the fresh ones, but they weren't as 'fresh' as they should have been. One thing: At the end of mixing, when the cabbage and meat mixtures were combined, I ended up with a lot of liquid in the bottom of the bowl. I drained the mixture, but a lot of the flavor drained out too! I'll have to try to fix that in the future, but this was an amazing recipe. And the little leftover filling tasted great by itself! Thanks, Trisha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Outstanding! I made very few changes: I browned the ground beef WITH the onion and garlic, drained it, then added the other ingredients in step 1. I omitted the sherry in step 1, and halved it in step 2, but when I tasted it I wished I hadn't because it tasted like it was missing something. Like other reviewers, I, too, added shredded carrots and celery. Next time I'll remember to add diced scallions also. I also drained the cabbage/beef mixture and LET IT COOL TO ROOM TEMP before attempting to wrap. Another thing: I could NOT find egg roll wrappers, so I used whole wheat tortilla wraps and they were great! But here's a tip on wrapping...it's kind of quirky so bear with me: Imagine your wrapper is a bald guy's face/head. Put your mixture where his mouth would be. Then, fold his "ears" in. The sides should be perfectly parallel. Begin rolling the wrap starting with the chin. BE SURE THAT THE OUTER EDGES STAY PARALLEL THE ENTIRE TIME! IF THEY BEGIN TO FORM A V, STRAIGHTEN THEM OUT AS YOU ROLL! Continue to wrap tightly. Once wrapped, dab a little water on the both wrap surfaces and roll wrap up in a towel for 3-5 minutes to "set." I used a dish towel that was lying around. Sorry for the goofy analogy, but I didn't know how else to describe it. Hope this helps! Finally, I started out deep frying these in a deep wok, but that didn't work out too well so then I did the rest of them in a deep frying pan with a more shallow amount of oil and they came out beautifully. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States