Beef Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
OMG these are awesome....i made this recipe last week for the first time ever making eggrolls and they were to die for, my best friend loved them and is coming over tomorrow to make them with me again, we are hooked and it makes a great left over! making these with a version of southwestern eggrolls like chili's restaurants! yum! so easy and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These were so easy to make and they are delicious. I used 1/2 more groud beef because my husband is a BIG meat eater!!!! Taste fantastic with sweet and sour sauce too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cRiStY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I've made this twice now but with chicken instead of beef, personal preference. I just diced up the chicken into a fine dice and sauted it as the reciped states. The first time I used fresh ginger, but it wasn't available the second time. It's good either way but I do prefer the fresh. Omitted the sherry. I also used a bag of shredded cabbage and a half of a bag of shredded carrots. The egg roll wrappers I purchased said to seal them, make a flour/water paste - equal parts. Use the paste on the seam. I didn't have any issues with them falling a part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This filling was great. However, I used some spring rolls with instructions written entirely in Japanese! I'm going to use egg rolls next time, and have already purchased them - in English.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Made this last night, along with Hunan Beef and Vegetable Fried Rice. Tasted just like the restaurants. Actually better since I was absolutely sure what was in them! (am a little wary of Chinese food just from lack of experience in eating it) I did have a issue with the flap on the wrappers staying closed when frying so next time I will use a little egg wash to tack them down. I also used shredded cabbage in a bag. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These were great!!! My husband always complains when I make egg rolls because they're never as good as my friends' when she makes them. This time he said, "These are the best egg rolls I've ever had in my life." Thank you, HERCATE, for helping me surprise my husband. Hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAHmckay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made this for my nieces and nephews and I was amazed how fast they ate them! I did not use the ginger but I don't think they cared. I was quick and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is an easy, simple, delicious recipe. I omitted the ginger(didn't have any) and cut down the cabbage to 2/3 of a small head and added 1/2 cup of shredded carrots. I had a little of the filling leftover so I used it in some fried rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnewlon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
these are so good! made them for a group of friends tonight as a side dish to stir fry...never made egg rolls before so i was viewing it as a total experiment! only made two per person and i could have made a lot more...they loved them! some said they were the best egg rolls they have ever had. i cut down on the cabbage and added bean sprouts but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe. i will definitely be making these again, many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very tasty recipe but I cut out the water to cook the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States