Beef Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was an awesome recipe to start from. I've made it 3 times now. Here are the changes I made: added more beef and potatoes than the recipe asked for, and bell peppers and carrots for a more stew taste. I coated the beef in flour before browning to thicken up the soup. It was still pretty runny but the broth was so good, nobody was complaining. If you want to make this more of a stew, you should probably use 4 cups of stock, not 6, and use cornstarch to thicken. UPDATE: I made the same soup today with chicken and chicken stock (instead of beef and beef stock) and substituted cooked rice for the potatoes. I skipped the browning part and followed the rest of the ingredients and steps per recipe with my original modifications, adjusting the cooking time to the chicken breast (cut up). Excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
this is a fantastic recipe! start that is... me being the diddler that i am i needed to tweak! i added four potatoes to give the soup more substance... also use a bit more onions... just to your taste of course. i used two medium onions... also heap the tablespoons of curry powder... cut mr salty in half. only 1 teaspoon for you! and add a pinch of cayenne... 1/4 teaspoon for the measurer... enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
added cornstarch to thicken soup to make it like a stew also added carrots. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was absolutely out of this world! The flavor is so intense. She said the recipe is from South Africa but my husband was in the Navy and we were stationed in Japan and the Japanese also have alot of curry dishes like this. It was so good to taste that flavor again, it brings back good memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I give this a three not because I liked it but, the wife seemed. So, what went right? I took some advice from others and cut the broth and added cornstarch. Got the perfect consistency for a great stew. The meal was easy to make and it smelled AWESOME while cooking it. However, once done, I put it over rice and must say, other than the first bite, this is probably the most bland thing I have ever eaten. I was so disappointed as I wanted a good easy curry dish. And the heat? Nothing there. Next time I'll add a few teaspoons of Cayenne. My recommendation is if you're going to try this, you have to add in a lot more spices. This was just too bland for me. The wife liked it, however, so, I'll give it three stars. I don't think I'll be making it again--it just took too long to make to risk having the same result again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
this came out really spicy! we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was really good and fun to make for two novice chefs. We used chuck steak rather than stew-grade beef, and sweet potatoes rather than regular potatoes. The sweet potatoes went really well with the curry, and I didn't find the meat to be too tough. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This really hit the spot! Read other reviews, added an extra potato, 2 thin carrots and a small amount of cornstarch. Made 8 cups of soup. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Excellent soup that is very easy to make. I suggest a tad bit more curry, and less onion, more like 1 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I found this soup really simple to make, but the flavour was a little bland as i love curries, so added a little more curry powder, a little biriyani seasoning and some garlic powder which gave the soup more flavour. I added just one sliced carrot to give the soup more colour. My boyfriend loved it served with warm cobb bread and proper butter, he even has me making it again this weekend for our friends! Definitely one to be made again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States