Beef Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was a good recipe but I made a few changes. Half an onion less and half a potato more, added a carrot, halved the salt, and thickened it at the end with tapioca flour. Made a pretty good meal with some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This soup was quite good. Actually very flavourful - despite a few reviews that said it was bland. The only changes I made were to add 2 small carrots, diced and one sweet potato, diced. The sweet potato added a nice flavour to the soup. Next time, I may add a small amount of cornstarch to thicken it slightly, but I didn't feel it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Everyone in my family loved it. My son took it to school for a project on African foods, and the container came back empty! One of my children that doesn't eat potatoes, even ate them in this dish. I do mine in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Easey, tasty, excellent. May want to make beef pieces smaller so they remain tender though. Other wise VERY good and perfect for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbsbasic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
My family liked this and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica McCabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was really good and fun to make for two novice chefs. We used chuck steak rather than stew-grade beef, and sweet potatoes rather than regular potatoes. The sweet potatoes went really well with the curry, and I didn't find the meat to be too tough. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I give this a three not because I liked it but, the wife seemed. So, what went right? I took some advice from others and cut the broth and added cornstarch. Got the perfect consistency for a great stew. The meal was easy to make and it smelled AWESOME while cooking it. However, once done, I put it over rice and must say, other than the first bite, this is probably the most bland thing I have ever eaten. I was so disappointed as I wanted a good easy curry dish. And the heat? Nothing there. Next time I'll add a few teaspoons of Cayenne. My recommendation is if you're going to try this, you have to add in a lot more spices. This was just too bland for me. The wife liked it, however, so, I'll give it three stars. I don't think I'll be making it again--it just took too long to make to risk having the same result again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was absolutely out of this world! The flavor is so intense. She said the recipe is from South Africa but my husband was in the Navy and we were stationed in Japan and the Japanese also have alot of curry dishes like this. It was so good to taste that flavor again, it brings back good memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was an awesome recipe to start from. I've made it 3 times now. Here are the changes I made: added more beef and potatoes than the recipe asked for, and bell peppers and carrots for a more stew taste. I coated the beef in flour before browning to thicken up the soup. It was still pretty runny but the broth was so good, nobody was complaining. If you want to make this more of a stew, you should probably use 4 cups of stock, not 6, and use cornstarch to thicken. UPDATE: I made the same soup today with chicken and chicken stock (instead of beef and beef stock) and substituted cooked rice for the potatoes. I skipped the browning part and followed the rest of the ingredients and steps per recipe with my original modifications, adjusting the cooking time to the chicken breast (cut up). Excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I made this last night and wow!!!! Is it ever great!!!! I was a little nervous because of the amount of curry that it called for (I'm not a fan of strong curries) but I followed the recipe exactly and the results were fantastic. I will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States