Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The meat for this was outstanding, I thought. Had never heard of adding vinegar to cooked ground beef before! I used large flour tortillas instead of corn since I've always known chimichangas to be made with flour. Was able to make 7 good-sized chimis with flour tortillas. They worked out perfectly, no falling apart. However, I've made similar recipes using corn tortillas and the trick to sturdy corn tortillas is to fry each one for about 30 seconds, as stated in this recipe also, so they are pliable but not wimpy-soft. I also had to use plain Greek yogurt in place of sour cream - worked like a charm. When reheating, use toaster oven or pan-fry on low heat to recapture outside crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The meat mixture is phenomenal. The corn tortillas take FOREVER!! And fall apart a lot. I'll try this again using flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was a big hit in our home. The only thing I'd do differently is to make more of them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent! I used flour instead of corn tortillas and topped wtih thinned velveeta queso. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was great! I didn't have sour cream, so I used cream cheese for the filling. It was a great, quick, easy meal and so much healthier baked. Next time I'll probably use chicken or steak inside and make sure to have alllll the fixins for it. Also, I will add the cheese to top it off and pop it back in the oven for a few minutes to let it melt on top. I think with a little work it could be one of the best recipes yet. My family loved it! PS We topped them with green enchilada sauce, cilantro, cheese, green onions, & tomatoes. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe is soo easy and soo good! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We liked this one a lot :) Definitely use FLOUR tortillas, as chimis are not made with corn tortillas. Anyway, this was very easy and I appreciated the baking over frying because, well, I was lazy today and didn't want to stand over the stove in 90 deg weather! We need 1-1/2 lbs of ground beef to feed us, so I just ended up using the whole pkg of taco seasoning and I only had fresh jalapenos which we like better than canned. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I made this last night, it was excellent. I thought it would not be crispy, but, it was. My family loved it. I will be making this again. One note to add on here, instead of cooking it in the oven for 15 minutes, I would cut the baking time down to 8-10. The bottom of the Chimi was a little too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Modified for LACTOSE INTOLERANT peeps. (not yelling, sorry). Turned out great btw. Used yogurt instead of sour cream, fake cheese, and butter instead of plastic. The butter is really only used to coat the tortilla (flour is what works) and man was that stuff was crispy melt-in-your-mouth. Lime juice instead of vinegar, Chili powder and Cumin instead of taco seasoning, crushed red pepper instead of green chillies. baked for like 10min. (OK so if you are REALLY sensitive to Lactose you might want to use margarine and idk if yogurt works for you. does for me) SO yeah, I guess I changed it up a bit. But the essence is still there. Think I would have added more onion (only used about 1/2 onion), beans and some other veggie to it because it was a whole lot of beef baby! I rolled mine up nice and fat like one of Chipotle's fat child-sized burritos. So good. My boyfriend snagged some and was SUPER jealous. Have a pic but it's on my dead phone. message me if you want to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My fiance and I absolutely love this meal! I add diced Jalepenos but thats because we like it really spicy. I have made it three times in the last 2 months :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States