Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was a big hit in our home. The only thing I'd do differently is to make more of them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent! I used flour instead of corn tortillas and topped wtih thinned velveeta queso. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was great! I didn't have sour cream, so I used cream cheese for the filling. It was a great, quick, easy meal and so much healthier baked. Next time I'll probably use chicken or steak inside and make sure to have alllll the fixins for it. Also, I will add the cheese to top it off and pop it back in the oven for a few minutes to let it melt on top. I think with a little work it could be one of the best recipes yet. My family loved it! PS We topped them with green enchilada sauce, cilantro, cheese, green onions, & tomatoes. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe is soo easy and soo good! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We liked this one a lot :) Definitely use FLOUR tortillas, as chimis are not made with corn tortillas. Anyway, this was very easy and I appreciated the baking over frying because, well, I was lazy today and didn't want to stand over the stove in 90 deg weather! We need 1-1/2 lbs of ground beef to feed us, so I just ended up using the whole pkg of taco seasoning and I only had fresh jalapenos which we like better than canned. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I made this last night, it was excellent. I thought it would not be crispy, but, it was. My family loved it. I will be making this again. One note to add on here, instead of cooking it in the oven for 15 minutes, I would cut the baking time down to 8-10. The bottom of the Chimi was a little too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Modified for LACTOSE INTOLERANT peeps. (not yelling, sorry). Turned out great btw. Used yogurt instead of sour cream, fake cheese, and butter instead of plastic. The butter is really only used to coat the tortilla (flour is what works) and man was that stuff was crispy melt-in-your-mouth. Lime juice instead of vinegar, Chili powder and Cumin instead of taco seasoning, crushed red pepper instead of green chillies. baked for like 10min. (OK so if you are REALLY sensitive to Lactose you might want to use margarine and idk if yogurt works for you. does for me) SO yeah, I guess I changed it up a bit. But the essence is still there. Think I would have added more onion (only used about 1/2 onion), beans and some other veggie to it because it was a whole lot of beef baby! I rolled mine up nice and fat like one of Chipotle's fat child-sized burritos. So good. My boyfriend snagged some and was SUPER jealous. Have a pic but it's on my dead phone. message me if you want to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My fiance and I absolutely love this meal! I add diced Jalepenos but thats because we like it really spicy. I have made it three times in the last 2 months :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
So so meal. The meat was not at all flavorful and I had to switch to flour tortillas after the corn kept falling apart. Unfortunately my family did not like it so I will not be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe was so good! I would have awarded five stars had I not had to tweak it. I do believe the prep time, 15 minutes, is off, as well. Using only 1/3 cup of filling per tortilla was not enough. After I wrapped a few, I reopened and added almost twice as much filling. To prep all the ingredients, cook the beef, and stuff the tortillas took at least 25 minutes and I am not a slow cook. I did leave out the vinegar as other reviews reported it gave an odd taste to the dish, substituted 2 jalapenos for the green chilies and used flour, not corn, tortillas as that was all I had. I love the fact that this dish is baked, not fried. The chimis baked up nice and crisp within 10 minutes. Not one opened up while baking. I will definitely make this dish again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States