Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I noticed after putting the chimichangas in the oven that I was supposed to use corn tortillas. Woops, I used flour. I Cooked the recipe the exact same way, but I did have to take them out around 8 or 9 minutes because of the flour tortillas. Turned out fabulous. I also had no green chilis so I used part of a can of Rotel. Love the ground beef mixture. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Yummy! Instead of taco seasoning mix I just used some ancho chile powder, cumin, garlic & onion powders, and black pepper. I was kinda hesistant about the vinegar, but it added a nice tang! I didn't do the whole dipping in margarine thing - just heated the tortillas in the microwave to make them pliable, wrapped them up, then sprayed with cooking spray before popping them in the oven. They bake up crispy but without the added calories. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this was a really yummy meal (we had it with salad). It works a lot better with 1tbsp taco seasoning and a few whole chopped tomatoes in the beef mixture to give it some freshness! very quick and easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was a nice change up from our regular taco night. Prepared as directed with the exception of omitting the chilies for my children and cutting the vinegar in half. Also, since I doubled the recipe, I made half of the chimichangas with flour tortillas and half with corn tortillas. I really preferred the corn tortillas. On a side note, if you do make both flour and corn chimis, you will have to cook them separately because the flour chimis do tend to crisp up faster by about five minutes. Great recipe that will be worked into the weekly rotation. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe was a big dissapointment...no one in my family cared for it. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyTrap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The ingredients go well together. However, the tortillas need to be either hard-fried and soaked to soft or soft and soaked well. It took two packages of corn tortillas to figure this out! Otherwise, the torts end up broken and in pieces. Because I goofed up the torts the first time, my kids made super nachos with the meat mixture...not all bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I wasn't impressed at all. Mine ended up being super hard and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Sooooooooo easy and good for the tummy. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Leece
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These were FANTASTIC! The absolute ONLY thing I changed was I used flour tortillas since that was all I had so I had to bake for about 8-9 mins instead of the whole 15. DO NOT change anything about this recipe. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I was skeptical at first, but I can see how these would easily become a family favorite. They are wonderful with a flavor that leans more on the authentic side. I couldn’t get enough! Unfortunately, all I could find were small tortillas and all they wanted to do was fall apart. I ended up microwaving them for a few seconds to help soften them and then I dipped in margarine. It helped a little, but I guess I should just learn how to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States