Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this for my family tonight, and everyone loved it. I also make my own taco seasoning mix. I added some sliced black olives, and instead of soaking corn tortillas in butter, I used large flour tortillas, brushed on a little e.v.o.o. added a thin layer of spicy refried beans, then the meat mixture and baked them for about 10 min to brown and crisp up the tortillas. I topped them with a little shredded cheese, sour cream, and my own made guacamole. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clark
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious - quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe, but I tweaked it. Sauteed onions in small pan prior to adding meat. Meat I bought was packaged shredded beef from the store. Also added chili powder, salt, and pepper to the mixture, but I left out the vinegar. Cooked in over until very light gold before then frying them. Added cheese to the top to finish. My family absolutely loved it and if you double the recipe, then you have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Ptashkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tnt04072004
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We tried both corn tortillas and flour. My husband liked the corn and I like the flour. I'll add more cheese next time and add some corn and black beans. We just wanna see if it'll make it better. But we did like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
My kids loved this, even the kids who absolutely hates flour tortillas. I did use flour tortillas and they crisped up perfectly without over cooking. I added taco sauce to the top after cooking and a big spoonful of salsa and served it with Southwestern Rice (I'll be honest, it was a Steamfresh bag of premade rice) Everyone asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used flour tortillas, I dont much care for corn ones. I also didn't add the vinegar I added the juice from the green chillies. Awesome meal to change up the mundane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Pretty delicious, but better with 1 TBSP taco seasoning and half of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The meat for this was outstanding, I thought. Had never heard of adding vinegar to cooked ground beef before! I used large flour tortillas instead of corn since I've always known chimichangas to be made with flour. Was able to make 7 good-sized chimis with flour tortillas. They worked out perfectly, no falling apart. However, I've made similar recipes using corn tortillas and the trick to sturdy corn tortillas is to fry each one for about 30 seconds, as stated in this recipe also, so they are pliable but not wimpy-soft. I also had to use plain Greek yogurt in place of sour cream - worked like a charm. When reheating, use toaster oven or pan-fry on low heat to recapture outside crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The meat mixture is phenomenal. The corn tortillas take FOREVER!! And fall apart a lot. I'll try this again using flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was a big hit in our home. The only thing I'd do differently is to make more of them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States