Beef Caldo with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
it was a good start, but too tomato, no spice. We don't eat potatoes, so I substituted 2 cans of great northern beans. I added a tsp of Italian spices, but it wasn't enough. I added a Tbs of cumin, that was the trick. turned out much better, good flavor, everyone enjoyed it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is a fantastic stew. I made it for a group of eight people (ranging in age from 6 to adult), and everyone found someting to like about it. I added big chunks of fried carrots (using the same technique & oil that I used for the potatoes) because I felt the tomato-y-ness of it need some sweetness to balance the acidity. I appreciated the reasonable price of the cut of meat called for in this dish when feeding big eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This wa a great base recipe, my husband raved about it and commented that we could add different spices to change the mixture i.e. add curry powder and serve with naan. I served this with the Light Oat bread from this site to mop up all of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this a 5 star family favorite by adding 1 bay leaf, a teaspoon of cumin, 1/2 teaspoon of chipotle chili powder and a dollop of sour cream on each serving. I'll definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I added portebella mushrooms and took out the tomato paste(only cuz I had none). Also added a grill herb mix instead of just the oregano and it turned out amazing!!!!!!! has this deep fresh earthy taste and smell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good. Instead of the potatoes I substituted with butter beans for the protein content (and I discovered that I was out of potatoes). It turned out delicious and lower in carbs. I also used beef bouillon instead of broth which added more salt and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The meat was tough not tender and bland no seasoning , salt and no flavor. The "soup" was more like eating a bowl of tomato sauce. The onions and garlic were barely existent. The red wine did nothing for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a good dish that needs help to be great. After reading the other reviews, I added 1 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. cayanne pepper to bump up the heat. We also are low carb in our house so I used turnips instead of potato. The overall flavor was great but the meat was tough. If I make it again, I will try it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARDGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is really good!! I read the reviews and decided to try adding some fresh cilantro to spice it up. The cilantro gave it the perfect taste. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was pretty good. Had to add more seasoning (soy sauce, salt)and topped it off with a little lemon juice and hot sauce just before serving. I think next time I'll add more garlic & spinich. I wasn't sure what to use for the tomato puree but used a can of tomato paste and added water to make two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States