Beef, Burgundy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this for Christmas dinner, and without a doubt this was stellar!!!!! Absolutely the very BEST I have ever had. Congratulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Extremely tender. The flavor is outstanding and downright exceptional. Additionally, the aroma while cooking is equally as good as it tastes. We will make this in our house again and again, especially for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Thank you Elliana for a great recipe! The only thing I will differntly next time is to double the sauce, as my husband and I both like a lot of sauce. After tasting this recipe we both said it is good enough to serve to company...now that is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This was wonderful! The only thing I did different was to sear the meat in butter after dusting it with a seasoned flour mixture. Everyone who tried it said it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This dish was enjoyed greatly by my family--including young children. The only thing I changed was a minor substitution: Instead of cooking the mushrooms in butter, I opted for a tablespoon or two of more burgundy wine. This dish, nonetheless, was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Wonderful flavor. I made this for a dinner party of 11, so I tripled the recipe and had lots of great leftovers. I followed another reviewers advice and made extra sauce, it was nice to have the extra gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I sized the recipe for 16 and made it for Christmas dinner. It was fantastic for a big crowd, prep work is done early so you can enjoy time with guests, and goes very well with roasted garlic mashed potatoes. Thanks for a wonderful and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was very good! I had to make a few changes due to my pantry stock. I had no demi glace, so I mixed a teaspoon worchestire sauce, a teaspoon bacon grease and a beef buillon cube. I also seared the beef in olive oil...my personal preference. Right before serving, after removing from the heat, I added a cup of sour cream to the mix. Then I poured it over hot buttery egg noodles. My family gobbled it up! Thank you! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was excellent Elliana! I didn't measure the wine; in fact, in the morning I placed my meat into a large plastic container and poured wine over until about half the meat was covered. I also added onions, garlic, peppercorns and carrots to the mix. I let this marinate for about five hours; flipping the meat every hour or so. By the time I was ready to cook, the meat was already incredibly tender. I didn't have any demi-glaze, so I used beef base. I probably quadrupled the sauce for this recipe, which worked out well because much of it cooked down and thickened anyway. Didn't want to waste the bacon, so I added that in too. Gave the dish a nice flavor. I served this over mashed potatoes and my family truly loved it. Thanks for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes from this website. Takes some time, but worth it, and doesn't require you to hover around while it simmers for 3 hours. It just looks like beef stew, which I'm not a big fan of, but it is so much better than that! On the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the sauce including the beef broth mixture, the sherry & wine, and am glad I increased the quantity. The gravy is very good! The recipe says to cut the beef into 3" pieces, but I cut it into 1" pieces. I also tossed the bacon in from the bacon drippings. I did not have a clue what beef demi-glace was, but I happened upon it in the grocery store near the bouillion cubes. Demi-glace is a bit pricey, but it is very worth it; the flavor it brings is wonderful; I froze the part I didn't use for next time. Thank you, Elliana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States