Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this for my in-laws last night and it was a HUGE HIT!! I made a few changes though: -I used Top Sirloin - the meat was SOOO tender -dredged the beef cubes in s&p seasoned flour -seared with garlic in pan -added fresh thyme, marjoram and rosemary -I used a Pinot Noir and added a bit more than the recipe called for, for good measure! This turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe, unlike my husband and daughter, they didn't care for it. Which is why I gave this recipe 4 stars. I lightly coated the meat with flour and browned as suggested by other users. I sliced the onions and fresh mushrooms and put into a slow cooker along with the meat, soup (I doubled the sauce and used 1 can golden mushroom and 1 can 99% fat free cream of mushroom soup) and 1 cup of wine (I also used the wine to de-glaze the pan I browned the meat in before adding to the slow cooker. Those brown bits add alot of flavor). I also added 2 garlic cloves, pressed to the mixture (I love garlic!). I cooked everything in the slow cooker on low for about 4 hours and served over egg noodles and topped with freshly choppped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Made this for the second time last night and it turns out great. The only changes I made were to add in some crushed garlic while sauteeing the onions, using 20 oz. of mushrooms, using 1 cup of wine and sprinkling in some pepper at the start of simmering. Plenty of sauce and thickening with the water/cornstarch slurry is no problem. We served over egg noodles and mixed in some green peas too. The leftover beef and sauce is destined for a lovely Shepherd's Pie this weekend. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is a great quick stroganoff. I like to use a cheap cut of meat with this (you CAN use beef or pork stew meat and have it come out fabulously and fake it, I do it all the time) and let it simmer in the sauce for an hour. The longer it simmers, the more tender the meat gets. Right before serving, I like to add a good amount of sour cream and a teaspoon each of dried oregano and dried basil. This doubles well and the leftovers always reheat wonderfully. We like this best over buttered egg noodles. NOTE: Any Campbell's mushroom soup will work in this recipe, I like to use the "beefy mushroom" soup if I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent! Made for guests -- easy for dinner party. I followed other suggestions and doubled the soup and wine. Perfect. I also added some thyme and served over egg noodles with chopped parsley as a garnish. Great flavor and easy. Would transfer easily to a slow cooker recipe. By the way, it will look very thick when you first mix it all t ogether. Do not worry, the sauce will thin as it simmers. No need to add additional liquid with 2 cans of soup and a cup of wine. Oh, I also added a tsp of minced garlic to the oil in which the meat was seared, as others suggested. This one is a defnite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
A delicious recipe! Don't worry if you can't find a burgundy for your dish, cabernet sauvignon or merlots work nicely and also serve nicely as your table wine for the evening. Serve on rice or pasta with some nice french bread and you are ready. MMM! Ambrosia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is delicious! Regular cream of mushroom soup works very well if you can't find golden mushroom. I used baby portabellas and they were delicious as well. I also used 1/2 bottle of Red Truck Pinot Noir, and omitted the butter. It does need to simmer for about 2 hours. When you mix everything together, the sauce looks very pink, but after simmering, it is brown. I simmered uncovered after 2 hours to thicken the sauce, and served over baked potatoes. This is one of my favorite winter recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Delicious. I've made this a few times. Last time I coated the beef in flour before browning. This helped make the meat more tender and also create a thicker sauce,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. The sauce is just delicious and the prep time is short. I made a few modifications to the recipe. I added an extra can of mushroom soup and an extra splash of wine (I used burgundy cooking wine). It made plenty of sauce. I also omitted the butter (by accident), but it still tasted great! I also baked it at 300 for an hour and a half instead of using a dutch oven. I used horrible, tough steaks and they turned out tender and juicy with this recipe. This recipe smelled so good while it was cooking and was perfect served on top of rice. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe. I am making it today for the second time in 2 weeks..........this time for family and friends. I followed other reviewers suggestions and doubled the burgundy wine and cooked it for at least twice as long as the original recipe says. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States