Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I used brown mushrooms and floured my beef before-hand, and added garlic. I doubled the wine to a cup and added some beef broth, as per suggested by other reviewers. I didn't have a dutch oven, so I made it in a deep saucepan/skillet with a lid and let it simmer for about 90 minutes. The wine flavour was quite strong, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was really very good for such an easy and fairly quick beef burgundy recipe. I used regular cream of mushrooms soup, doubled the wine and added some beef broth. I also floured the meat (seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder) before browning it and added some fresh parsley. My husband devoured it. Thanks for a keeper, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Very simple and easy. I would definately make it again using the same recipe. So easy for a weekday supper. Makes a nice gravy to go on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was a very easy recipe and tasted so good! My boyfriend and I both had seconds. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I surprised my husband with this dish and he was so happy. He said it was excellent and extremely close to the one that his favorite restaurant serves. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very tasty. I think the more sauce the better. It was great over egg noodles. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is a keeper!!!! I just put everything in a slow cooker on low for around 5 hours. It turned out tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Made this for the second time last night and it turns out great. The only changes I made were to add in some crushed garlic while sauteeing the onions, using 20 oz. of mushrooms, using 1 cup of wine and sprinkling in some pepper at the start of simmering. Plenty of sauce and thickening with the water/cornstarch slurry is no problem. We served over egg noodles and mixed in some green peas too. The leftover beef and sauce is destined for a lovely Shepherd's Pie this weekend. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
The sauce was quite good. I am giving this three stars because the meat was not tender at all. I don't think I'll make it again for fear that it would still be tough. But the sauce was good enough to warrant the three stars. I added extra mushrooms and it was tasty over the noodles I served it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My husband and I just loved it, I also used 1 full cup wine and I also used shallots with the onions. I also cooked for 45 minutes in a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States