Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good recipe. I used low-fat cream of mushroom soup to make it a little healthier and it turned out find. Didn't have an onion on hand, so I used onion powder, and I added a little garlic. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
It tasted fine the first night, but as we went through the leftovers a day or two later, it turned grey & fishy (?!?!) Would be willing to try again with a "baking buddy" supervising to see what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this once and I was disappointed with the lack of flavor. I did use shallots instead of onions, so maybe that was the flavor mistake. It was also very rich and thick.... too rich (maybe partly from coating meat with flour first). It seemed to sit in my stomach for days. This dish is not for those with sensitive stomachs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLDAVIS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
it was great , but i messed it up alittle , i tried it in the crock pot and for the first hour i had it on high . don't do that , it makes the meat just alittle on the dry side . it was very flavorful ,it fell apart as i served it but it was just a little on the dry side . i'll deffently cook this again but i'll cook on low only for 4-6 hours .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good stuff. Served it on noodles. Made recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I used a 2 lb sirloin steak, cut into cubes, coated in seasoned flour, and then browned. I layered in my crock pot petite baby carrots, the browned meat, 1/2 tsp each thyme, rosemary, and marjoram, and a bay leaf, then the sauteed mushrooms and onions. I deglazed the browning pan with 1/4 cup wine, then I poured in a 26 oz cream of mushroom soup with another cup of merlot (all I had on hand), and three beef boullion cubes. I waited for it to bubble and for the boullion to dissolve, then I poured it over the veggies and meat in the crock pot, and cooked it on low for 9 hours. It was delicious. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura_lee_76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
You may laugh but we got some red wine for Christmas and we are not big drinkers... so we tried this. Needless to say my hubby has taken the left overs to work every day and he asked if I could make a batch for lunch. One of the easiest meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used cream of mushroom soup and cabernet. My husband, who typically doesn't care for this dish even thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I've made this recipe so many times and it always comes out delicious. The only thing I do differently is lightly dust the beef cubes with flour before searing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was super easy to make. Both my husband and I loved it. It will for sure become a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Vale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States