Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good. I didn't have golden mushroom soup, so I used plain cream of mushroom. I also added fresh garlic and some garlic salt and pepper because it was a little more bland than I normally like. Also, I used beef tenderloin coated with flour instead of sirloin. I doubled the sauce and used merlot. The way I made it was a 4 star, but I'm giving 5 stars because I can imagine the golden mushroom soup would be alot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great dish! I doubled the sauce portion (butter, soup, wine)and added a teaspoon of beef bullion. Prior to searing the meat, I sprinkled with steak seasoning. Very tasty, very tender, yet mushrooms remained firm enough to enjoy... Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very disappointing - quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I dredged the beef cubes in a little flour salt/pepper. Seared them a few at a time in hot oil. Removed from the pan and did the mushrooms and onions. Deglazed the pan with half a bottle of a cheap cabernet (Sutter Home) and cooked for a few minutes. Added 1/2 cup of water to the Cream of Chicken soup, added dried parsley and stirred that into the sauce. Readded the meat and veggies and put that into the oven for 3 hours on 325. The meat was tender and delicious!!!! Served with egg noodles, salad and veggie. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Floured and added seasoned salt and pepper, then browned. Added extra soup and wine for extra sauce. Served over rice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is delicious! Regular cream of mushroom soup works very well if you can't find golden mushroom. I used baby portabellas and they were delicious as well. I also used 1/2 bottle of Red Truck Pinot Noir, and omitted the butter. It does need to simmer for about 2 hours. When you mix everything together, the sauce looks very pink, but after simmering, it is brown. I simmered uncovered after 2 hours to thicken the sauce, and served over baked potatoes. This is one of my favorite winter recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Quite possibly the best meal I've ever made! I had to use a chuck roast, and regualr cream of mushroom soup, because that's what I had. I followed another cook's suggestion and dredged the meat in peppered flour before searing it with fresh rosemary and thyme. The rosemary and burgundy, together, gave it such a rich, heady falvor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I have an extremely picky husband and this was one dinner he rated "excellent". I did add a couple of bay leaves, increased wine to 1 cup, using cabernet, sauteed garlic before adding meat and added some thyme. Will definitely make for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I only tasted a few bites but it had a good flavor. I did what others suggested and sauteed the meat with a little garlic as well. I would make this again but next time I will probably use a different cut of beef. I used stew meat, which was the closest thing I could find to sirloin tips, and although it wasn't tough it just didn't have the tenderness I was looking for. I also seasoned my meat with a little seasoned salt before searing it. I may not do that next time because, with the golden mushroom soup, it seemed a tad bit on the salty side. It was perfect for my husband who loves salt, but it was just too much for me. I cooked egg noodles on the side and made french cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
very good and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States