Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Simple to prepare with a pleasing taste, although it seems like it could use something else--perhaps an herb of some sort. I did add 3 cloves of minced garlic, and I also used top sirloin because that is what I had on hand. Like others, I increased the burgundy to 1 C. in order to have more yummy sauce. I served it over garlic roasted mashed potatoes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
pretty good, served over egg noodles and we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
MMMMMMM....What a comforting and delicious meal this was. I too added more wine, lots of mushrooms and served it over mashed potatoes. Thanks Lorrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
add lots of mushrooms....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe. I am making it today for the second time in 2 weeks..........this time for family and friends. I followed other reviewers suggestions and doubled the burgundy wine and cooked it for at least twice as long as the original recipe says. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
A wonderful aroma fills the house; both husband & son loved this dish. I added extra burgundy and minced cloves. Meat was very tender. I'll be making this again; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is quick and easy and DELIGHTFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This recipe has a lot of potential and is great for improvising. I used beef spare rib meat I got on sale. I didn't have any golden mushroom soup (or even regular mushroom soup)--most grocery stores I'm near don't carry it. I've used both fresh and canned mushrooms in place of the soup and it wsa just as good. I used a can of beef stock and added a cornstarch/water mixture to thicken it after cooking. I also added garlic and a bay leaf. Like others have commented, I had to add more water and wine because so much evaporated. BUT, the taste was wondeful after it was cooked and though I had intended to freeze it for a 'quick meal' it never made it that far and was dinner tonight! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
yum yum yum!! holy cow, what a wonderful dish! i dusted my sirloin with flour before searing it & followed the recommendations to add a full cup of burgundy. the simmering process worked very well in my crockpot on low (add an extra hour or so). we loved the delicious aroma & served this over amish egg noodles. thank you lorrie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States