Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very good. Followed others advice and tossed beef in flour before browning with some garlic. Husband was very afraid as he smelled something wonderful and peeked in the pot to see that dinner was a nasty purple color. He was quite relieved that it turned a nice plum/brown before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was outstanding! Great recipe. I floured, salted and peppered my cubes before browning as others suggested. Browned with a clove of fresh minced garlic as well. Also used 1 cup of Burgundy. Turned out DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Yummy, this turned out well, lots of room for imagination and your own flavor. Should really try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was a pretty good and easy dinner to make. Didn't really get rave reviews, but was all eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I think it needed a little more flavor from something. It was easy though and ingredients were simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Small_Fry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this for my in-laws last night and it was a HUGE HIT!! I made a few changes though: -I used Top Sirloin - the meat was SOOO tender -dredged the beef cubes in s&p seasoned flour -seared with garlic in pan -added fresh thyme, marjoram and rosemary -I used a Pinot Noir and added a bit more than the recipe called for, for good measure! This turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I give this a 5 star rating becuase of it's easy preparation and it's add on possibilities. I ended up using 2/3 cup of wine and added a clove of garlic to the onion/mushroom sautee. This is a very good dish and there is room for adding some of your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
It was really good. The only changes I made were that I used 1 cup of wine and I also added some garlic while browning the meat, then I added some cream at the end. I do think there needs to be some more gravy. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe, unlike my husband and daughter, they didn't care for it. Which is why I gave this recipe 4 stars. I lightly coated the meat with flour and browned as suggested by other users. I sliced the onions and fresh mushrooms and put into a slow cooker along with the meat, soup (I doubled the sauce and used 1 can golden mushroom and 1 can 99% fat free cream of mushroom soup) and 1 cup of wine (I also used the wine to de-glaze the pan I browned the meat in before adding to the slow cooker. Those brown bits add alot of flavor). I also added 2 garlic cloves, pressed to the mixture (I love garlic!). I cooked everything in the slow cooker on low for about 4 hours and served over egg noodles and topped with freshly choppped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I used brown mushrooms and floured my beef before-hand, and added garlic. I doubled the wine to a cup and added some beef broth, as per suggested by other reviewers. I didn't have a dutch oven, so I made it in a deep saucepan/skillet with a lid and let it simmer for about 90 minutes. The wine flavour was quite strong, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States