Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. The sauce is just delicious and the prep time is short. I made a few modifications to the recipe. I added an extra can of mushroom soup and an extra splash of wine (I used burgundy cooking wine). It made plenty of sauce. I also omitted the butter (by accident), but it still tasted great! I also baked it at 300 for an hour and a half instead of using a dutch oven. I used horrible, tough steaks and they turned out tender and juicy with this recipe. This recipe smelled so good while it was cooking and was perfect served on top of rice. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
My husband liked this recipe better than I did. It was just ok, in my opinion. First of all, I thought it smelled awful while it was cooking. I like wine, but the over-powering smell of the wine cooking really turned me off before I had ever tasted it. I did end up doubling the sauce after the first hour. Even simmering on low with the lid on, the sauce just seemed to be cooking away, and I was left with glazed meat instead of meat and sauce. I think this dish is an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This was an easy recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This recipe has two things going for it - it's easy and it's delicious. I use two cans of soup and one cup of wine because Ilike a lot of sauce. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
FANTASTIC!We loved this so much and will definately make again. I made this 2 times already, once with red cooking wine from the grocery store and once with burgundy wine. We loved both as each had a slightly different taste. I would like to try the gravy next time in with a pot roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
My guy bought a ton of beef sirloin at a sale and I have been trying everthig to use it up! We enjoyed this recipe--it's good comfort food for a cold night. We like ours saucy, so I added more of all of the liquid ingredients the second time around. Thanks for an easy recipe Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I am rating this recipe five stars not because it is the best beef burgandy I have ever tasted, but because I see some great versatility here. My husband and I had it with mashed potatoes one night. Another night I took the rest and used it(and another can of beef broth)as my base for a very yummy stew/soup. I could see making this recipe up in bulk and freezing it in packets to be used for soups, stroganoffs, etc. What a timesaver this could be. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I made this simple dish last night and both me and my husband enjoyed it over mashed potatoes. I used 1 1/2 lbs. of stew meat and then followed the recipie exact. I used E&J Hearty Burgundy wine (inexpensive but great tasting)and it was all ready to eat after 1 3/4 hours of simmering. Yes, I'll make this again, and leftovers will be eaten with pasta tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
WOW! Beef Burgundy has always been one of my favorite dishes when I go to French restaurants/ parties, but I have always been scared to try any recipes because they all looked so complex. And then I found this one. . . It was delicious!! I did make a few modifications to it, though. I increased the amount of wine to 2 1/2 cups, and the cans of soup to 2. This gave is a lot more sauce, and the extra wine gave it a bolder flavor. The sauce is really what makes this dish fabulous. Also, when there was about 15 minutes of time left for simmering, I added a 15 ounce jar of Holland Style (cocktail) onions, drained and rinsed. It added a little bit more flavor to the dish and gave it extra points for presentation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is the second beef burgundy recipe I have tried, and I have come to the conclusion that I just do not care for beef burgundy. My husband love it. My kids did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States