Beef Burgundy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Added 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste but followed recipe otherwise. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and was a little disapointed. It seemed to lack very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is a great quick stroganoff. I like to use a cheap cut of meat with this (you CAN use beef or pork stew meat and have it come out fabulously and fake it, I do it all the time) and let it simmer in the sauce for an hour. The longer it simmers, the more tender the meat gets. Right before serving, I like to add a good amount of sour cream and a teaspoon each of dried oregano and dried basil. This doubles well and the leftovers always reheat wonderfully. We like this best over buttered egg noodles. NOTE: Any Campbell's mushroom soup will work in this recipe, I like to use the "beefy mushroom" soup if I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for dinner the other night along with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and I thought it was really good! I actually think it would be better with plain old noodles though. I followed the recipe, but I added a clove of minced garlic and a pinch of thyme. Very good recipe. I would like to make it without canned soup the next time. If anyone has a really good recipe for golden mushroom soup (that won't alter the taste of this recipe), it would be much appreciated ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy recipe and delicious. I added more wine but had to thicken sauce. The house will smell heavenly while cooking. Easy meal for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I didn't love this. I made it as written, with the exceptions of adding a couple cloves of garlic and two stems of fresh thyme. Oh and I made a mistake and added a cup of wine instead if a half (this wasn't the problem...lol). The flavor was flat and a bit tinny and the texture of the sauce was unpleasantly slippery. The family ate it but I won't be making it again without crisping some bacon and skipping the canned soup in favor of sauteing the mushrooms in the bacon fat and adding beef stock, then reducing. Served with egg noodles but I think rice or mashed potatoes is a better choice for this kind of dish, I find myself chasing the noodles around and trying to stab them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The noodles look a little overcooked....two stars for effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Delicious. As suggested in other reviews, I added garlic with the onions and a bit more wine. Also added frozen pepper strips. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
To make this a lot quicker, I put seasoned flour in a ziplock bag, then added 1" cubes of beef; shook them to coat with flour, then added half to a searing pan of canola oil with a little EVOO for flavor. After the first batch was done, I seared the 2nd batch, then poured 2 cans of soup and 1 soup can of red wine into a bowl. Stirred together, then added to the pot of simmering beef and mushrooms (baby bella have more flavor than plain white, IMO). Set on low on my gas stove and simmered for 2 hours; served over wide noodles (no yolks). Use the same red wine you'd serve with a meal for the best flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was great! I substituted grape juice instead of the wine. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States