Beef Burgundy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this today, exactly by the directions, even though I usually just toss all my stew ingredients in a pot, boil it, and see what happens. I'm so glad I made this pot the right way. I browned all the veggies individually, just like it says, and wow! This is one good stew! I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annalou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is worth the time and effort. I served a plain mashed potatoe and with the rich gravy it was so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A beautiful Beef Burgundy. As good as I have had even in France. The meat was very tender, it also pays to use a good wine. I used the same as we were drinking with the dinner. Instead of adding the potatoes I made a creamy mash and it went extremely well with this dish. You will enjoy this dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
It was very delicious and relatively easy to make. Would definetly make it again. I didn't give it five stars just because it was tasty but was lacking something. I can't put my finger on it but what ever that little something was it does not change the fact that this was a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I don't know what the true definition of this dish is except delicious! The meat was tender and flavorful, the sauce (gravy) rich with layers of flavors. I personally loved the veggies and really appreciate the complexity they add to the dish. The aroma of the simmering pot was unbelievable! Thank you Leslie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
The previous reviewers are missing the point, which is that this is delicious! Maybe it's not a "true" beef burgundy, but who cares? My husband, who usually doesn't like soups and stews, absolutely loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I cooked this recipe for 27 people to celebrate a 90th birthday for my boyfriends Mom. I had only met his family once before. This dish won me lots of praise and thank you's from everyone. Leftovers were actually stolen! I overheard my guy telling someone that it was the best food he had ever eaten. I will cook this for my family the next time I am having them for dinner. This dish will impress your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was very good! I skipped sauteeing all the veggies and only did the onions and mushrooms together. I thought there would be way too much butter otherwise. Besides that I didn't deviate, it was wonderful and I could definitely taste the burgundy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
The only problem I have with this recipe is the name. It made me believe it would have a richer more interesting taste but it ended up tasting exactly like a typical beef stew. Many stew recipes are much simpler and yield a very similar result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Too much like beef stew with the potatoes and carrots in the dish. Not a classic beef and burgundy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States