Beef Burgundy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
The beef was so tender. The whole house smelled invitingly delicious. The sauce was eagerly sopped up with French bread. Everyone is looking forward to another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Too much like beef stew with the potatoes and carrots in the dish. Not a classic beef and burgundy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
The only problem I have with this recipe is the name. It made me believe it would have a richer more interesting taste but it ended up tasting exactly like a typical beef stew. Many stew recipes are much simpler and yield a very similar result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was very good! I skipped sauteeing all the veggies and only did the onions and mushrooms together. I thought there would be way too much butter otherwise. Besides that I didn't deviate, it was wonderful and I could definitely taste the burgundy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I cooked this recipe for 27 people to celebrate a 90th birthday for my boyfriends Mom. I had only met his family once before. This dish won me lots of praise and thank you's from everyone. Leftovers were actually stolen! I overheard my guy telling someone that it was the best food he had ever eaten. I will cook this for my family the next time I am having them for dinner. This dish will impress your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
The previous reviewers are missing the point, which is that this is delicious! Maybe it's not a "true" beef burgundy, but who cares? My husband, who usually doesn't like soups and stews, absolutely loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I don't know what the true definition of this dish is except delicious! The meat was tender and flavorful, the sauce (gravy) rich with layers of flavors. I personally loved the veggies and really appreciate the complexity they add to the dish. The aroma of the simmering pot was unbelievable! Thank you Leslie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
It was very delicious and relatively easy to make. Would definetly make it again. I didn't give it five stars just because it was tasty but was lacking something. I can't put my finger on it but what ever that little something was it does not change the fact that this was a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A beautiful Beef Burgundy. As good as I have had even in France. The meat was very tender, it also pays to use a good wine. I used the same as we were drinking with the dinner. Instead of adding the potatoes I made a creamy mash and it went extremely well with this dish. You will enjoy this dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is worth the time and effort. I served a plain mashed potatoe and with the rich gravy it was so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States