Beef Burgundy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I cut back on the onion; using two medium sized onions instead of three and I also added about one tablespoon of minced garlic. I also added two teaspoons of garlic powder and I thickened the sauce at the end with cornstarch mixed with water. Delicious over noodles. We dipped our biscuits in the sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I really liked this recipe! I used a jar of mushrooms, as they're not my favorite, and also threw in a can of French Onion soup, 'cause it was in the cupboard. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I was really excited about this recipe. I just wasn't thrilled with the outcome. Now, I don't tend to cook with wine - and don't drink it, so that was not a winning factor for me. I made in the crock pot and at first it seemed that it would be too tough, and then it turned out too dry. I gave it a go. I don't think there's anything I could do that would make it better for us, so we'll skip it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. Yes, the sauce is thin; just thicken it up with some cornstarch .... quick and easy for every good cook. Never too many onions or mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
YUMMY! This was way better than I was thinking it would be, because of some of the reviews. I used a chuck roast because that's what I had. I think that people who thought it was tough might not have cooked it long enough... not too long. I ended up cooking mine for longer than stated, but that is because my hubby likes his meat very tender. I think it was a little over two hours. the flavor was awesome. I sauteed mushrooms on the side for the ones who like them and the flavor was still great. I used a wine that was pretty tasty to drink, & I think that makes a difference. I did add two cloves of garlic(pressed) at the end with the onions. I resisted the urge to add the onions in the beginning, and am glad that I did. I didn't measure my flour(or salt and pepper I added to season it) or oil... floured the meat before browning, and did a few different batches of meat to get each one totally browned. The sauce turned out a nice consistancy to cover egg noodles and stick to the meat. It was truly fantastic. Thank you for this recipe! My kids and hubby gobbled it up! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I did not care for this. There was no flavor and way too many onions. It was like onions in broth with a few pieces of meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Oh wow... This recipe is amazing!!! My fiance and I have never tried beef burgundy before, but we were both pleasantly surprised. He even ate dinner slowly, relishing every bite of this yummy dish (as opposed to practically inhaling his dinner). I think I browned the steak too long though. I had never browned steak before. Next time I think I'll brown it a little less than I did. But other than that, it was fantastic. I also made garlic mashed red potatoes and apple crisp for dessert. Mmmmmmm. I will definitely make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalballerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, though not great. For some reason I thought that the sauce would be thicker and richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This dish was delicious! The only thing I changed was adding minced garlic per other reviewers and omitted mushrooms since I don't like them. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
As is, this rates a 4. I used canned beef broth (diluted with water as per the label), so with the 1 tsp of salt, it was way too salty. I had to add a diced potato and a can of tomato paste to take the saltiness away. I also used a lot of garlic per other readers' comments, and I used some baby carrots and celery. With my modifications, this is definitely a 5. I didn't have problems with the broth beeing too watery. I browned the meat in oil, then after it was browned I stirred in the flour. Once it was thoroughly mixed in, I then added the broth and liquid. It turned out a beautiful, rich brown. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States