Beef Burgundy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Because so many of you said this didn't have enough flavor I added extra beef broth (dry), onion flakes, 2 bay leaves and extra thyme - oh and don't forget garlic! When I added the onions and mushrooms I found a few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar made a great improvement - just the right fruity sweetness and tartness to go with the savory. Play with this recipe, it's a good base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I browned my meat and then put all the ingredients in the crockpot for 8 hours on low-delicious, especially when served with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
A great recipe that can be adapted for the crock pot. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and served it over mashed potatoes with green beans for my father's 81st birthday. He loved it as did the rest of the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Yummy! This had excellent flavor and the beef turned out surprisingly tender for such a tough cut. Next time I will cut back on the onions or just use small ones) and I'll add some garlic while browning the meat for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a good recipe. I hardly ever follow a recipe to a "T" so of course I added my own touch. The key to a good beef burgundy is getting a good reduction. I flour the beef and then saute it, after it is browned then I deglaze the pan with some of the wine. I then carmelize the onions lighly and saute the mushrooms, followed by another deglaze consiting of wine and balsamic vinegar. Like others stated it is good in a crockpot after all the ingredients are assembled because it will reduce and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This dish was delicious! The only thing I changed was adding minced garlic per other reviewers and omitted mushrooms since I don't like them. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My husband has never raved about my cooking until I made this recipe! This is no joke, he actually licked the sauce off of his plate, he loved it so much!The only change I made was I put 2 tsps. of minced garlic in while browning the meat. I also ended up adding just a little more wine to cover. This recipe was to die for! Thank you for helping me make my picky husband happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
What I ended up with was little cubes of meat in a liquid so didn't know how to serve it. I mixed it with egg noodles and served it in a bowl with hard rolls. We enjoyed dipping our rolls in the sauce. It was very tasty, reminded me a lot of a frozen dinner we had before. I skipped the oil and flour part and fried the meat plain to spare unneeded fat calories. I used canned beef broth, a small can of mushrooms and 1 small onion, and everthing else as described. The meat came out very tender and the juice was awesome. This spelled terrible cooking. Next time I will either keep the meat one piece and serve as a side or find a way to thicken the juice. This didn't taste like beef burgundy, more like au jus for roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I used this recipe for venison loins instead of beef- it came out so tender and the gravy was very flavorful. I had a lot of extra liquid so I combined some flour paste into it to thicken it up a bit. I served it over rice, but instead I think this would have made great hot open faced sandwiches accompanied with mashed potatoes and peas. It tasted like a rich pot roast and gravy to me, but without all the fat from beef. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Excellent Rich Flavor. Easy to prepare. I followed the recipe using a Cabernet Savignon and made the following changes. 1. only used one onion (thats all i had on hand, but thats all you need) 2. I used 1 jar of siliced shitake mushrooms(also all I had on hand). 3. I did add about 3 tsp of minced garlic during the browning as others suggested. 4. added 1/2 tsp of bay leaves and doubled the black pepper. I served this over egg noodles and it got rave reviews. The only reason i didnt give it 5 stars is it is a really soupy finished product and i even tried to thicken it w/ addt'l flour. but the flavor alone makes this a definite keeper and I will just work on reducing the liquid more next time. Oh, I also used cheap, cubed stew meat, and it was fork tender, and very very good. I did do the stovetop simmer as written in the recipe, but I can see how this would be a very easy transistion into a slow cooker recipe. Thanks for a easy and tasty recipe Faith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States