Beef Burgundy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I browned my meat and then put all the ingredients in the crockpot for 8 hours on low-delicious, especially when served with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was wonderful! I made it for my husband for Father's Day and he loved it. I cooked the onions the same time as the meat and the mushrooms about 1/2 hr and added some garlic. FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
The sauce and mushrooms were fantastic. The meat was not--ended up tough and overdone. I will be trying this again, but it may take some work to figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Because so many of you said this didn't have enough flavor I added extra beef broth (dry), onion flakes, 2 bay leaves and extra thyme - oh and don't forget garlic! When I added the onions and mushrooms I found a few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar made a great improvement - just the right fruity sweetness and tartness to go with the savory. Play with this recipe, it's a good base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was pretty good. I too thought it needed a little something and I had added lots of garlic and a little red pepper flake. Also my sauce never did thicken enough for us. I did brown the onions and mushrooms with the beef and flour. Served it over bow ties pasta, and both hubby and I were adding a lot of salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I think there was a little too much flavor from the wine, would cut it in half, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Wonderful! I will definitely be making this again. I added a little more beef broth instead of wine (only because I was out of wine lol!)when I added the mushrooms and onions. I used a good quality Cabernet Sauvignon and I thickened the sauce with 2 Tbsp cornstarch mixed in some room temp beef broth. Served it over rice. Thanks for the great recipe Faith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
A great recipe that can be adapted for the crock pot. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and served it over mashed potatoes with green beans for my father's 81st birthday. He loved it as did the rest of the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My husband has never raved about my cooking until I made this recipe! This is no joke, he actually licked the sauce off of his plate, he loved it so much!The only change I made was I put 2 tsps. of minced garlic in while browning the meat. I also ended up adding just a little more wine to cover. This recipe was to die for! Thank you for helping me make my picky husband happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
My husband loved this, but I thought it was a little bland. I think the quality of the wine used probably wasn't that great - next time I think I would buy a more expensive wine to intensify the flavor. I will try again though because the beef was tender and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States