Beef Burgundy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe except for the onion, I only had one and the beef broth. I used 3 bouillion cubes in two cups of water. I browned the meat in a pan but instead of cooking on the stove I put it in the slowcooker for about six hours. It was very flavorful and very tender. I served it over rice. I would definetly make this again. It's good. Oh I also thickened the sauce with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Loved this!!! So Good- my husbands track meet (he is a coach) ran late so this cooked for almost three hours...soooo tender! Added a little garlic salt and put over angel hair- I think next time I will try adding chopped garlic, otherwise- Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. Definitely needs to be thickened quite a bit. It just wasn't that flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Too much onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Just made this dish for my husband and teenage son. WOW! Husband devoured it and kept raving about how good it was. It was also VERY EASY to prepare. I did make a couple of minor changes: 2 onions instead of 3, and extra thyme. I also added 2 whole garlic cloves and would probably add more next time, and I thickened the gravy at the end with a bit of flour. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Just OK. Nobody really cared for it. It did smell nice while it was cooking, but it was awfully "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a good recipe. I hardly ever follow a recipe to a "T" so of course I added my own touch. The key to a good beef burgundy is getting a good reduction. I flour the beef and then saute it, after it is browned then I deglaze the pan with some of the wine. I then carmelize the onions lighly and saute the mushrooms, followed by another deglaze consiting of wine and balsamic vinegar. Like others stated it is good in a crockpot after all the ingredients are assembled because it will reduce and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! Used some of the suggestions from fellow reviewers: added garlic, cooked an extra hour, added carrots(when liquid was added) and browned the meat with the onions & garlic. Used a few sprinkles of xanthan gum to thicken instead of cornstarch. Served over linguini & with fresh green beans in a hollandaise sauce. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRONCHIEF

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very good, rich flavor. this recipe needs no modification at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
i covered it with tin foil, reduced the heat and left it in for four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States