Beef Burgundy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My kids loved this. It was pretty soupy so I reduced it a bit more than directed. I also added some brocolli to it. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I changed a few things, but not much. I coat the beef pieces IN the flour before dropping them into the pan. I hate how the flour clumps up when you just sprinkle it over. But other than that, do it all the same. If the sauce is too thin when it comes time to serve, then I do sprinkle in a bit of flour and it works like a charm. We serve it over wide egg noodles with hot rolls to soak up any remaining juice. Its so good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was wonderful. I made it just as the recipes except my roast was frozen and so I just threw everything in the crock pot and let it cook all day while I was at work. I used Merlot and the flavor was beyond anything we imagined. Everyone loved it and it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I actually made a couple tweaks to the recipe. I definitely use all of the ingredients listed (except for the olive oil -- explanation below), and actually taste throughout to determine my preference, which I highly recommend, but here are my secrets (my recipe is definitely a 5-star recipe). Use better meat than round steak. Cut up a filet, a NY Strip, a Ribeye, etc., into smaller squares. The first thing I do in making the burgundy is to cut up small pieces of bacon and cook them in a sauce pan. Instead of using olive oil, I use the bacon to cook everything in. Instead of noodles, I cut up redskin potatos, baste with olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and bake to a golden crip. I then put the meat over the potatoes, which is much better than noodles. Use garlic cloves, and beef buillion to make the sauce, in addition to the above. Enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Carrots, cut the same size as the beef..1 lb worked with marjoram. 1/2 lb of chopped bacon will give the glaze and opl to brown the beef.... tons of flavor I added 3/4 cup of Conac and flamed it off For a super rich flavor added 10 juniper berrys crushed.. worked with bay leaf and thyme better This is as close to the real french classic prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I followed the recipe and cooked it for 1 1/2 hours. Then I put the meat and sauce into a casserole dish and put it in the oven at 200 degrees for 5 hours and the meat was extremely tender and the sauce thickened up nicely. If you are looking for a slow cooking method, this is it. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We loved this recipe. I chose to add some brown sugar to our recipe. For us left overs turned out to be so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbluerose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this in a crockpot without browning first and it was excellent. I like to make extra to freeze so I used 3lbs of cut up cubes of Chuck that I got at COST** (The big warehouse store) Their meat is always tender, I did 1.5x the recipe, and used mushroom soup mix because I didn't have mushrooms, and dry beef gravy mix w/only 1c water. (not the recommended 2c broth)because the beef makes liquid while cooking, and the reduction of the 1c. made it thicker which I liked. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Excellent Rich Flavor. Easy to prepare. I followed the recipe using a Cabernet Savignon and made the following changes. 1. only used one onion (thats all i had on hand, but thats all you need) 2. I used 1 jar of siliced shitake mushrooms(also all I had on hand). 3. I did add about 3 tsp of minced garlic during the browning as others suggested. 4. added 1/2 tsp of bay leaves and doubled the black pepper. I served this over egg noodles and it got rave reviews. The only reason i didnt give it 5 stars is it is a really soupy finished product and i even tried to thicken it w/ addt'l flour. but the flavor alone makes this a definite keeper and I will just work on reducing the liquid more next time. Oh, I also used cheap, cubed stew meat, and it was fork tender, and very very good. I did do the stovetop simmer as written in the recipe, but I can see how this would be a very easy transistion into a slow cooker recipe. Thanks for a easy and tasty recipe Faith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This had good flavor, I just used 2 onions and it was plenty oniony. Lots of broth. I cooked the beef in the wine and broth and added some baby carrots, in the oven in a covered cast iron pot for 1 1/2 hrs at 275. Beef was fork tender. I served it over noodles, delish. I had so much left over I made a beef pot pie with the leftovers. I used a prepared pie crust, added a lb. of frozen vegetables and 2 diced cooked potatoes. Great, versatile recipe. Mushrooms and burgundy added a nice flavor to the pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States