Beef Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was OK. Nothing amazing. Nothing I will put in my recipe folder to make again, it was just Meh. I actually marinated it for 2 days, the flavor was just so-so. It is easy to make and the family enjoyed it. Maybe I need to play with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Cooked indoors because I didn't feel like grilling. I did cook these until juices evaporated and sugar caramelized. Served with Korean Egg Roll Triangles, Korean Soba Salad (Jaengban Gooksu without the dressing or soba) but using Korean Style Salad Dressing, Pickled Daikon Radish and Carrot, Homemade Kimchi, and fixings (lettuce and rice for the wraps, sugar snap peas, sugar snap pea micro-greens, sprouts: mung beans, alfalfa, 3 part and 5 part salad mix, broccoli, and green lentils.) My daughter was amazed by the wraps and said, "It was an explosion of flavor!" Served buffet style on the table like in Korea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
believe it or not, I made this as a freezer meal. last month, i was on here looking for different recipes to add to my OAMC repertoire and i decided to try this one. i followed directions for the marinade and stuck some cheap thin sliced steaks in a baggie...i think may have added a touch of pineapple juice to the marinade….. and put them in the back of my freezer (with a note on how to prepare and to serve w/ scallions) and forgot about it. Fast forward to last nite...I bought some scallions and remembered i had this stashed--- so i pulled it out. i didn't expect it to be all that great…but i was wrong... it was excellent!! I made this as a lettuce wrap, served with a touch of hoisin sauce, and it was a really tasty, satisfying but light summer dinner. will go in my freezer meal rotation. If you are making this tonight, do yourself a favor and double this recipe and freeze additional portion for another meal. it will taste just as great as the one you make tonight! U will not regret it! THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE FOR THOSE WHO DO OAMC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great Marinade. I did take the suggestion of others and used brown sugar instead of white. I also seasoned the beef with a bit of season salt, a tbspn of red wine vinegar, and teriyaki sauce. This is good stuff. A definite keeper. It also taste good sauteing in the pan and serving with sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I've made it for guests twice. They had never heard of it and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
just yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Loved it! The only difference i made is i did not use any sugar. I put one or two Asian pears peeled in blander and use them with marinade ! Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My family loved it. I didn't have pear juice but I did have a large navel orange. I juiced that into the marinade and it turned out fine. Substituted sugar with honey like someone else suggested and it helped it glaze up nice on the bbq. I am making it again this weekend but I'm going to double the meat and triple the marinade for a nice noodle sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have made bulgogi for years,this is really close to the recipe I use but with having diabetics in the family I have cut down on the sugar and use pear extract or juice instead also I use a london broil partially frozen for easier slicing and we do in hot skillet so we get some of the juices remaining to put over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I love this recipe and so does my boyfriend! I did make some changes based off of other suggestions and my own experience, material on hand etc. I used brown sugar instead of white. I did not have green onion so I used spring onion. I also added rice wine vinegar and I had no sesame seeds. I like more garlic, so I also added another clove. At my local grocery store they sell shaved beef, so that made it a lot easier to put together. Awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States