Beef Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is the same recipe I have used for years. We love it. The only thing I do different is I use 2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar instead of white sugar. The same amount. Try it you will like it. My son makes excellent Bulgogi and egg rolls. This is the recipe that we use. We buy a good beef loin and freeze it. That makes it easier to slice. He slices it very thin and then we marinate. We also use this marinade on chicken and pork. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I consider myself a bit of a bulgogi connoisseur. I first tried bulgogi at church potlucks as a child. A sweet lady in our church always made it, since everyone requested it. Since I've grown up, I'm always on the search for Korean restaurants serving up some delicious bulgogi. Let me say, my search will go no further than my kitchen from now on. Love, love, LOVE this recipe. I was worried about making it from scratch as I have no real experience cooking any sort of Korean food, but I'm glad I tried it. Couple of tips. If you have a larger food processor with a slicer blade, run your slightly frozen beef through it. So ridiculously thin! Also, if you don't have access to a grill, go ahead and make it in a very hot skillet on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Really good! I followed the recommendation of another user and used brown sugar in place of white. I also inculded a diced kiwi to tenderize the meat. I marinated for 6 hours and think next time I will leave it in overnight, just so the flavor has more time to soak in. But a truly great recipe! Yum! EDIT: I made this again and it marinated for two days, which was WAAAYYY too long! The soy sauce overpowered the other flavors. My recommendation is to marinate for no more than 24 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Okay I'm that guy who is just starting to cook....I'm still pretty bad, no lie. But when I made this dish last night, I felt like a chef. This was the best thing I've ever made and words cannot describe how delicious this was. I served it over egg noodles because that's really all I had besides rice. I added a little soy to the marinade and added a little extra garlic. There's no way you can screw this up unless you cook the london broil too long or don't slice it thin enough. I had never even heard of Beef Bulgogi before finding this (and I still don't know how to pronounce it). But I know now. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbender36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious! I love the meat wrapped in a lettuce leaf - very colourful and lower in calories. Served with a side of steamed rice, this version of beef bulgogi couldn't be better. I used a grill pan on the stove and crisped the ribs under the broiler. It would be best on an outdoor grill but I don't have one. Your mother makes GREAT food - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is very authentic!! Just like my Korean mother made me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Very good! I've always wanted to try this since our meat depart. has cut bulgogi. I wasn't able to grill, so I broiled it. Next time I will just stir fry and then thicken the marinade so I have a sauce to go over the rice. UPDATE: Sesame noodles make a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe! I do think we'd add a little sugar (yeah, I know that seems like a lot) and a little red pepper flake and marinate overnight (we only marinated about 3 hours), but this was great especially served with cellophane noodles, sliced lettuce, spinach, carrot, and green onion (with a little extra soy sauce, sesame oil, and ginger on the noodles and salad). Easy, killer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Shared this with neighbor who served with the army in Korea and fell in love with the cuisine. He says this is as good as it gets. We did use the red leaf lettuce and the hot pepper paste. Very flavorful, very spicey and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I LOVED this. I wrapped it in lettuce like you suggested, didn't have red pepper paste so I added red pepper flakes and chili oil to the sauce and it was SO good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States