Beef Brisket with Mushrooms and Pearl Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Bizarre ingredients, INCREDIBLE flavor! I’m usually not afraid to take risks with my food, and I’m so glad I tried this. I’d never made brisket before, but this was super easy and the flavor was outstanding. I couldn’t find frozen pearl onions or fresh tarragon when I went shopping. I substituted with jarred pearl onions (15 oz., drained) and a tsp of dried tarragon. All other ingredients were used as stated in the recipe. The brisket was so yummy straight from the oven without the mushrooms and onions; I didn’t even bother putting them over the meat. I just served them as a side. (They were also delicious by themselves). I will certainly make this again and might even double the sauce amount. My fiancé and I couldn’t get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bruce, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The ingredients are unusual, but the brisket comes out GREAT! I used my crock pot, and omitted the pearl onions and tarragon, and it was awesome. The sauce is like a bbq sauce but it has more depth. I served the brisket over garlic mash potatoes. I will totally make this again. And I am passing it on to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyneely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was excellent. Ridiculous ingredients, but super easy and very tasty. I chopped the fresh tarragon, but forgot to add it at the end, and it was not missed. I tried a bite with a sprinkle of tarragon, and it was good, but not necessary. I did bake the brisket longer and at a lower temperature as called for in other brisket recipes I have tried (specifically, 300 degrees for 4 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I have tried several brisket recipes and none have really been "a keeper", as my husband says. But I just made this for dinner and my husband is just raving about it! He keeps going back to the dish and sneaking bites! Two things I didn't use: pearl onions (he doesn't like onions like that) and tarragon. I wasn't familiar with tarragon, so I bought some for this dish, but after I chopped it up, I didn't like the smell and neither did my husband, so I left it out. It smells like black licorice to us. I'm on a very strict diet, so I couldn't have any, but again, my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is the first brisket I've made and I got so many compliments on it. I cooked it in the oven on Christmas Eve for 3 hours. On Christmas morning, I sliced it up and added the mushroom and onion mixture and reheated in the crockpot. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My 26 year-old son made this last night for Passover (okay, I'm sure not everything was allowable), but it was by far the BEST brisket I've ever had! He did cook it at a lower temp for longer as instructed by me. He used fresh pearl onions which he cut in half before he sauteed the mixture and they came apart a bit more as they cooked so that they were just the perfect amount of soft. Like many others, he too forgot to add the tarragon (made no difference!). This made lots of gravy and he put carrots and potatoes in for the last 2 hours or a little longer since the oven was low. EVERYONE loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This recipe was absolutely outrageous. My husband was hesitant to try it at first but loved the end result. A must try dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I have never made Beef Brisket, this was the first recipe I have tried. I thought it turned out good. I could only find a 2 pound Brisket so I cut the recipe in half. I'm glad I did because it made quite a bit of food! I could not find Pearl Onions, so I used thickly sliced white onions. I did not care for the Tarragon, next time this will be left out. Also when making this, make sure the foil is folded tightly. A lot of my juice and sauce ran out due to the foil being loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahm802

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Barely followed the recipe except for the basic tastemakers here (jelly + onion soup mix), wasn't afraid of this recipe because my mother has a meatball recipe very similar that is the best thing you ever put in your mouth. It was better than I could have expected, thank you for posting this smuckers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I put all the ingredients for the meat and sauce in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and it came nice and tender. As previous reviewers' suggested, I served the sauteed mushrooms and onions as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States