Beef Brisket My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was pretty good but certainly not five stars. If I made it again, I probably wouldn't make it the same way. I cooked it in the oven for four hours - used a 4 pound brisket but it did not come out fork tender. I used fresh rosemary, extra carrots and I added some liquid smoke, I also thickened the juices to make a gravy. The carrots were delicious but the meat a little too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Disappointing! I cooked the brisket in the crock pot, minus the carrots and celery. The meat was dry and the sauce awful. Would not make it again. The meat was salvaged by making sandwiches with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Dumped the rest of the sauce! It even smelled odd when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I don't know what I did but I really did not like this. The meat was ok but I disliked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
First time I ever cooked a brisket. It was delicious! It tasted a little sweet, it must have been because of the balsamic vinegar (from Modena, the best!). This recipe deserves 5 stars! I used fresh spices and Cannonau wine (from Sardinia). I chose to cook it in the crock pot. When the meat was done, I removed it and thickened the sauce with a couple tablespoons of flour and cook it for 10-15 min more. I then poured the sauce on top of the meat and ate it with a a baguette fresh out of the oven! Awesome! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I found the marinade and sauce had too much of a tomato taste but this is after years of my mother making dried up brisket with too much tomato sauce. I would tone down the balsamic and try adding some molasses or brown sugar as well. Very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A knock-out! My family gobbled this up like there was no tomorrow, and they're not big beef eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Great new recipe...however I thought the balsamic came through a little too strong but my hubby, who hates vinegar of all types, loved it. Very tender and sliced beautifully. Will definitely make again, with a reduction in the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
It worked great--I skipped marinating it and just tossed all the ingredients into a slow cooker for 6 hours on high (or even 7). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was good, though after 8 hours in the crock pot, not as tender as I would have hoped. Maybe it works better to bake it as written but I just wasn't around for the maintenance! A bit too much onion for me so I'll cut back next time. I'd probably also add more carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We've been wanting to try a beef brisket for a long time. It was right around New Years and it didn't make sense to try a BBQ recipe so we tried this one. I'm not a vegetable eater, but the sauce made all the veggies taste great and my boyfriend and I were fighting over them. The second time we did it we added potatos! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States