Beef Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a good and simple recipe. I served mine over penne pasta but I can see this working great on its own for a dinner for two. I made mine in a large skillet and it was really flavorful and the meat very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Simple. Easy. Delicious. And made the entire house smell SO GOOD! We too had it on Penne... only because that is what we had in the house. I anticipate the leftovers will be delicious as well. I'm sure everyone at work tomorrow will be jealous. I served this with a tossed salad and garlic cheese toast. Oh, and the rest of the bottle of wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I had about 2 lbs of steak, so I doubled the recipe on everything, including the broth. Probably shouldn't have done so because the dish is extremely watery... I think about half the recommended amount would have worked better. Taste is just okay, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The wife and family went nuts for it. Added some hot sauce and cayenne pepper to taste just because we like things a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good. My wife and I both enjoyed this. I used Shiraz wine, a different brand of beef broth, and Herbes de Provence instead of the parsley and thyme, and the end result was very tasty over orzo. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
We had it over the orzo and I like that alot better than egg noodles. I used del monte canned carrots too, that way we didn't have to wait for the carrots to be cooked enough for me. I think it's a keeper. My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made Julia Child's recipe a few months ago which was excellent. It took all afternoon. I made this in an hour and it was really really good. I cooked it longer than the 30 minutes - maybe 45 minutes - because the sauce had not thickened in the 30 minutes called for. I didn't serve it with orzo and instead served it with fettucini alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bruce Isselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I made this with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans and crusty Italian bread. Hubby who NEVER eats leftovers actually requested this the next day! I also used frozen sliced mushrooms since I didn't have any fresh and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really wonderful flavor! I used herbs de provence and lots of minced garlic. We really enjoyed the crimini mushrooms in the sauce. The beef sirloin strips came out so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States