Beef Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
due to the other comments, i used 1 cup of broth and a tad more than 1/4 cup of wine. it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airkiss23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Yummy and easy! I served it over couscous. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
this was yummy! I used a whole onion instead of just two tablespoons, and added two chopped stalks of celery. Also used sliced big carrots instead of baby carrots, and served with boiled new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I have to say, I was impressed with this recipe. I was a bit sceptical after reading some of the reviews, but the dish really turned out well. This is basically a 30-minute beef stew, so you get a nice hearty meal without the slow-cooker. I followed the recipe exactly, using fat-free, low-sodium broth and portabella mushrooms. After reading some of the reviews saying that this recipe was bland and after tasting the sauce, I added a little salt and pepper to wake things up a bit. Other than that, I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce to my liking and served over Orzo pasta. Don't let the bland reviews scare you away from this one, as it really doesn't need much to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I don't think this cut of meat can get tender enough to suit me within this cooking time. That is my reason for 4 starts. I also added some 7 pepper blend to spice it up to suit my husband's taste. Originally, I thought the sauce was a tad bland. It is a good recipe and a great starting point to play with different seasonings and flavors. I served it over orzo pasta. Thanks for the recipe and I would make this again, but with definite changes to the seasoning blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It took quite a long time to cook down, and still tasted a bit "eh." Overall not bad, but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
The beef did cook up tender, however, I thought this was lacking in flavor. I served it over couscous just because we are cutting back on carbs, and it worked. It needed something that I cannot put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
very delicious! Great for Guests! I added 6 pepper blend spices to the flour to heat it up. Served with smashed sweet potato with honey,butter, and salt /pepper and green beans. Sourdough bread toasted on the side also. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States