Beef Bourguignon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent. I doubled this recipe, and used Merlot. Bacon is always good, but I don't think the whole 'garnish' deal was needed in this. Next time I'll just throw the mushrooms in and add more onions, and (crazily) skip the bacon altogether. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
i will never make plain beef stew again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was delish! Next time, I will use it in a crock with a roast. My husband even liked it and he's not a fan of mushrooms or wine. Yummy!! Oh, I used a nice cab sav for my red wine *it was the only thing I had* Again, Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valliant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I cooked this dish for my wife and it was great. Didn't make any changes to the recipe; it doesn't need any changes. Served it with rice. She took it to her school the next day for lunch and made the other teachers jealous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is DELICIOUS! Use good red wine..think it's essential to bring out the flavour of the dish. Needed more broth during simmering, so I added about a cup additional. I reduced the beef to about 600g as I was only serving for 2, but otherwise followed the other measurements. I also substituted with 250g Shitake mushrooms as I couldn't get buttons. I did not serve it as a garnish but instead added the onions and mushrooms during the last 30min of simmering(to make it a healthier option). I loved the extra flavour Shitake added to the dish, though I think it may be a little overpowering for non-Shitake fans. Next time, i'll experiment with both buttons and shitake. Overall, i really liked it. My home smell so heavenly the whole day. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
easy... great for company, husband really enjoyed this and said to make sure I saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great, the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This came out so good that I was requested to keep this as a regular in my repetoire. I seasoned my meat with kosher salt so it came out a bit salty and I used a bit more broth and wine than called for, but all in all a great dish which I may try doing in the slow cooker the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
this recipe is a timeless classic , I love too cook this dish, it is at the soul of french cusine as are so many dishes that share its same humble beginings ,a joy to cook , a joy too eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMYZ123

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and each time it gets better. I omit the small onions as my husband detests them, but pretty much keep everything else the same. Also, I use a top cut sirloin and cut it up which is often more tender than stew beef from the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States