Beef Bourguignon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I really liked this..I would be sure to marinate the beef for longer, and I added to the marinade some minced garlic and worcestershire. You'll probably need more than a cup of wine..Also needed additional beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent. I doubled this recipe, and used Merlot. Bacon is always good, but I don't think the whole 'garnish' deal was needed in this. Next time I'll just throw the mushrooms in and add more onions, and (crazily) skip the bacon altogether. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is DELICIOUS! Use good red wine..think it's essential to bring out the flavour of the dish. Needed more broth during simmering, so I added about a cup additional. I reduced the beef to about 600g as I was only serving for 2, but otherwise followed the other measurements. I also substituted with 250g Shitake mushrooms as I couldn't get buttons. I did not serve it as a garnish but instead added the onions and mushrooms during the last 30min of simmering(to make it a healthier option). I loved the extra flavour Shitake added to the dish, though I think it may be a little overpowering for non-Shitake fans. Next time, i'll experiment with both buttons and shitake. Overall, i really liked it. My home smell so heavenly the whole day. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I marinated it overnight and I omitted the bacon. I served this over homemade polenta, which went perfectly with this recipe! The recipe didn't say when to add the salt and pepper, so I added it when I sauteed the beef and when I browned the mushrooms with the small onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This came out so good that I was requested to keep this as a regular in my repetoire. I seasoned my meat with kosher salt so it came out a bit salty and I used a bit more broth and wine than called for, but all in all a great dish which I may try doing in the slow cooker the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I used an entire bottle of red wine. You need to use a cabernet b/c other reds aren't "strong" enough in flavor to hold up in this recipe. So I wouldn't recommend a Pinot or a Merlot. Go for a nice California Cabernet. I marinated the beef Overnight. In addition to the parsley,thyme and bay leaf, I added fresh rosemary to the bouquet garni. I also marinated onions,celery and carrots with the beef overnight. I separated the beef and cooked that first. Browned real well. While the beef was browning I reduced the wine marinade in a separate pot. You need to reduce the wine in a separate pot so that it doesn't make the dish bitter. Added the vegetables and the reduced wine and cooked on the stove for about 40 minutes. Came out very tender and it was delicious. I left out the bacon b/c there is enough flavor in this dish that you Do Not need to add additional fat to it. Omitted the mushrooms b/c I didn't have any. Also, I used low sodium beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
this recipe is a timeless classic , I love too cook this dish, it is at the soul of french cusine as are so many dishes that share its same humble beginings ,a joy to cook , a joy too eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMYZ123

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I worked with what I had, so I didn't follow to the letter. I ended up using 1 lb. of Angus beef tips and didn't use the tiny onions. For mushrooms, I used baby Portobellos. I did use a better Cab Sauv and I did add more broth during the simmer. All in all, this was a great recipe that I will be making again. As another reviewer mentioned, the house smelled wonderful during and after the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMANFACTORSUCF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and each time it gets better. I omit the small onions as my husband detests them, but pretty much keep everything else the same. Also, I use a top cut sirloin and cut it up which is often more tender than stew beef from the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong but it came out very disappointing. The meat while flavorful was not tender. And as far as the gravy... there wasn't nearly enough. I thought Beef Bourguignon was supposed to be a stew but in the end, I had to add quite a bit more beef broth just to have a bit of gravy to serve it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States