Beef Bourguignon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This came out so good that I was requested to keep this as a regular in my repetoire. I seasoned my meat with kosher salt so it came out a bit salty and I used a bit more broth and wine than called for, but all in all a great dish which I may try doing in the slow cooker the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I marinated it overnight and I omitted the bacon. I served this over homemade polenta, which went perfectly with this recipe! The recipe didn't say when to add the salt and pepper, so I added it when I sauteed the beef and when I browned the mushrooms with the small onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent. I doubled this recipe, and used Merlot. Bacon is always good, but I don't think the whole 'garnish' deal was needed in this. Next time I'll just throw the mushrooms in and add more onions, and (crazily) skip the bacon altogether. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I worked with what I had, so I didn't follow to the letter. I ended up using 1 lb. of Angus beef tips and didn't use the tiny onions. For mushrooms, I used baby Portobellos. I did use a better Cab Sauv and I did add more broth during the simmer. All in all, this was a great recipe that I will be making again. As another reviewer mentioned, the house smelled wonderful during and after the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMANFACTORSUCF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great, the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very delicious! I increased the amount of wine and broth and marinated for 5hrs. instead of 3hrs. I used a nice, smooth Pinot Noir however, next time I think I will use a dry Cab Sav to intensify the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I like this a lot. Very easy and a lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Really good, although fairly plain. I did need more wine and more broth, and - as another person commented - the garnish was the best part. Next time I'll just add more broth and lots of vegetables and make a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I followed the recipe almost exactly, but the meat came out pretty tough. The sauce was a little watery, and my guests liked the bacon and onion garnish the best! I wish the meat could have matched...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SISTAJAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
easy... great for company, husband really enjoyed this and said to make sure I saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States